Go Back   WorldwideDX Amateur Radio Forums > General Discussion > Announcements & Open Forum


Amateur Callsign Lookup
Enter Callsign:

Propper way to hook up 2 power supplies together

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-26-2009, 10:08 PM
TonyV225's Avatar
W9WDX Amateur Radio Club Member
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 5,723
TonyV225 is on a distinguished road
Default Propper way to hook up 2 power supplies together


Ok what Im looking for is some information on hooking up power supplies together for more amperage I know the rules on matching voltage and amperage but i need to know from those who have done this and are familiar with it.

What is the propper way to hook them up from one to the other also I knew a guy that had hooked a few pyramid 52 ampers together and the plastic power lugs melted on the supply that had the main wires that ran to the amplifier so he had replaced with metal lugs he purchased from astron to get rid of the problem.

Unfortunately this friend is no longer with us so I cant get info from him so I wanted to see what I could obtain information wise out here from people who have piggy back power supplies Im looking for both the do's and dont's.
__________________
""""was not thinking of a cber sat with his makita screwdriver winding round the presets untill his meter said s9+60db from a guy on a handheld 15 miles away""""


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-26-2009, 11:26 PM
74IN's Avatar
Senior Member
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Labia
Posts: 2,382
74IN is on a distinguished road
Default

I've run Astrons in parallel, but the PS closest to the load will carry most of the current and pass it on. The first one will go to max and than look for the next to help.

The terminals on the PS closest to the load might not have been up to the task of carrying that much current.

I had three Astron 35M's hooked together and that's what I experienced.

__________________



Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-27-2009, 10:35 AM
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 8,188
Moleculo has disabled reputation
Default

If the terminals can't handle the current available, you could always make a new harness that taps the supplies at the wire that runs between the supply. That's the way I would probably do it.

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-30-2009, 11:08 AM
Senior Member
iTrader: (0)
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 127
smalltiredart is on a distinguished road
Default

I have an Astron RS-70M, and on the rear it has an extra terminal for hooking another in parallel.

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-30-2009, 12:23 PM
EDUK8TR's Avatar
W9WDX Amateur Radio Club Member
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: West Central Highlands, VA
Posts: 934
EDUK8TR is on a distinguished road
Default

Also take negative from one supply and positive from the other. That is what I was advised to do by the techs at Astron. I used to run three Astron 50 amp supplies to run a solid state amp. So I took negative from the first supply in line and positive from the last.
__________________
"To be is to do"-Socrates;

"To do is to be"-Sartre;

"Do Be Do Be Do"-Sinatra;

WV4L,CDX-787,AK2787
Mobile/Base
Icom70000/Kenwood TS-2000 w/LDG AT-1000ProII
Stock mic or W2ENY headset on VOX/D104 w/Heil HC-5 or W2ENY headset on VOX
Tarheel 200A-HP w/N2VZ Turbo Tuner,Larson NMO 2/70B/TX-472 tower w/ 80M Horizontal Delta Loop, 20-6M K4KIO Hex beam, Gulf Alpha Dual Band Cross Polarity 7X7El. 2M:10 El.v70 CM beam, Arrow 146-440GP
Ameritron AL80A

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-30-2009, 03:39 PM
Robb's Avatar
Yup
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Silicon Valley CA, Storm Lake IA
Posts: 8,089
Robb is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EDUK8TR View Post
Also take negative from one supply and positive from the other. That is what I was advised to do by the techs at Astron. I used to run three Astron 50 amp supplies to run a solid state amp. So I took negative from the first supply in line and positive from the last.
Great tip!
Thanks

Q: Can one run a 20 amp supply with a 30 amp supply ehrn doing this? Or is this courting disaster?
I have a Vista XX-R and an XXX-R. I got both of them -for free- and fixed them. I was considering getting a Texas Star 667 if this would work.
__________________
BASE: Kenwood TS-2000, GAP Titan DX, Diamond X50A, Sirio SY27-4, and IMAX 2000.
MOBILE: Galaxy DX99V w/RF Limited CR-577 mic, Sirio Z-180. Yaesu FT-8800R & Diamond NR-770.

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-30-2009, 10:30 PM
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 8,188
Moleculo has disabled reputation
Default

Quote:
Q: Can one run a 20 amp supply with a 30 amp supply ehrn doing this? Or is this courting disaster?

You can do it, but it could be hard on the smaller supply. It really depens on how much current you're plannign on using from the whole setup.

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-01-2009, 05:55 AM
Senior Member
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 777
dxhound is on a distinguished road
Default

i looked into linking 2 ps52s together also. I heard there are two tricks to doing this. One was mentioned about the neg and pos being on two seperate supplies. The other is to isolate them using a choke or 1:1 Balun of sorts.

All you need to do is when you connect the Neg to Neg and pos to pos, build an inline choke using 10 gauge wire and 1 inch pvc. put 30 wraps of the wire around the pvc so that each wrap of wire lays next to the last. This helps to keep one power supply from drawing on the other while idle, acting like an inductor/combiner network of sorts.

Or the easy thing is buy this 90 amper
Power Supplies

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks
Worldwide Radio Forum



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Worldwide Radio Forum