1. In celebration of the launch of the new redesigned site, we just gave away a FREE antenna! Click Here to See Who Won!

12 V Power Supply ?

Discussion in 'General Ham Radio Discussion' started by Billk, Mar 16, 2012.

  1. Billk

    Billk Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys,
    My trusty 20 year old Motorola power supply I use on my workbench has finally decided it has had enough. I may take it apart this weekend and see if I can fix it, but I really need one with a little more output. 30 amps would be my choice.

    So what is everyones preference ? I dont need bells and whistles, just reliable, clean 12VDC. Does not have to be adjustable and I dont really care if it has a meter or not, thats what the DVM is for :) I would prefer the output connector on the front, my present one is on the back of the unit.

    Any thoughts ?


    #1
  2. mr_fx

    mr_fx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,467
    Likes Received:
    160
    #2
  3. Billk

    Billk Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    FX,
    Am I looking at that thing correctly and seeing the AC input connectors exposed ???? No thanks.

    That being said, I started searching for info on my Motorola and it turns out it is an Anstron RS 10 with a Motorola Decal on it. I figure I have had it for close to 20 years and it was used when I got it so I think another Anstron might be the way to go. The RS30 is 25 amps continuous and 35 peak, that should do anything I need.

    Any word on the newer Anstrons ?
    #3
  4. mr_fx

    mr_fx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,467
    Likes Received:
    160

    Good thing you are not looking at it correctly. lol But anyway there is a swing down cover/door
    #4
  5. Need2Know

    Need2Know KK4GMU - The Villages, FL

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    7
    Owning and using one of these units, I see no difference in safety between the way the AC is connected to this unit compared to any other, bannana plug or otherwise. And the ratings on eHam are the highest of any other power supply.
    #5
  6. Mudfoot

    Mudfoot Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    7,334
    Likes Received:
    2,130
    I am trying to invent an mathematical formula that can be used to convert EHAM reviews into real world numbers.
    #6
    2 people like this.
  7. mr_fx

    mr_fx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,467
    Likes Received:
    160
    I don't care rated it. It's a decent, cheap, clean working unit. I ran a 4 x 1446 amp and a SSB mobile CB off this very unit, not even a 10th of a volt power

    As for the AC power in connection, you could open it up and make it take a standard 3 prong plug, like out of a computer of something.

    I plan to install mine in a new case and maybe install a larger slower moving fan and better connectors.
    #7
  8. Need2Know

    Need2Know KK4GMU - The Villages, FL

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    7
    Sometimes we need to go with the information we got.

    I realize you were joking, but...

    Try this formula: Average rating divided by 1 plus the percentage below the median price of of all similarly purposed items. If the price of the item of interest is $65, and the rating is 5.0, divide 5.0 by the 1 + % below median price of all 30 amp continuous units. Assuming the median price of all 30 amp units is $120, divide the rating of 5.0 by 1.5 giving it a rating of 3.33.

    This will subject the outrageously cheap units to a reality check of why they are so cheap - that considers their lack of features or other qualities that more expensive units have.
    #8
    3 people like this.
  9. ONAWHIM

    ONAWHIM Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    39
    Dang! That's some heavy cypherin!

    Attached Files:

    #9
  10. Need2Know

    Need2Know KK4GMU - The Villages, FL

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    7
    Goll-lee, Andy. I didn't know you could do thayat!
    #10
  11. Tucker442

    Tucker442 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    853
    Likes Received:
    86
    I have had a few over the years, in the shack I run mobile radios with power supplies all the time. There are a bunch on the market but my favorites that have given me great service for years either a Astron or Tripp-Lite, the heavier the better, very well made and should last you a lifetime unless you over tax it. I had a few Pyramid 36 and 52 ones, they work ok but the numbers are not what they will do, guess it's a selling feature. Right now in my shack I have an Astron 30 and a Tripp Lite 70, they will run anything I want to play with up to the 2970N2 that was doing almost 200 watts
    #11
  12. Moleculo

    Moleculo Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    8,305
    Likes Received:
    527
    I would probably just pick up one of the new MFJ switching units. They are fairly inexpensive, small, lightweight, and readily available.

    If you want a linear supply, I just posted a Tripp Lite 20 amp in the swapshop.
    #12
  13. Billk

    Billk Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for all the relies. I went through my Motorola this weekend and tightened up all of the connections etc and it seems to be working ok for now. I am getting a new rig that will need more power than the 10A I have now so I will probably get another Anstron. Probably the 30.

    Thanks again,
    #13
  14. Tucker442

    Tucker442 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    853
    Likes Received:
    86
    Good Idea, if your going to spend the money get at least a 30 unless you find something used on like Ebay or Craigs List, even the Golden Screwdriver guys have a hard time messing up one of those, just make sure if you buy a used one you check the output voltage before hooking up a radio, I bought a used Astron 20 at a ham fest about 5 years ago, before using it I checked the output, some wonderful person had it at 15.4 volts, a little much for me, I lowered it to 14.0 when transmitting it would go to about 13.7 or 13.8, worked fine for me.
    #14
  15. NeoHam

    NeoHam New Again

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    4
    battery charger?

    What would be a good arrangement for a mobile used as a base. I'd like auto operation for the wife in case of power failure. Can I just run off a battery 24/7 w/ trickle?
    #15


Share This Page