• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

A Solar Powered Ham (or CB) Radio Station

B

BOOTY MONSTER

haven't seen this discussed here before and thought some might find it interesting .

A Solar Powered Ham Radio Station
ROB NORMAN (VK5SW)

http://www.eham.net/articles/20948

"A Solar Powered Ham Radio Station

Since I wrote the article called ' Modest 20 foot Tower ', I've had enquiries, wanting to know more about my 'Solar Powered Station in the Bush'...

There's an interest, nowadays, in alternative forms of power but the most popular for Amateur Radio Operators would have to be Solar Power... The problem, however, is that I don't know much about it but I can share with you what I do know... I've been operating my ' Solar Station in the Bush ' for a couple of years now and it's been working very well, although my situation is probably a little different to most, in that, we use our property as a ' getaway ' and we're only there for a few days each month or so, and therefore the demand on the battery is infrequent...

There are basically 3 components to a Solar Installation... The Battery, the Solar Panel and the Controller to regulate the current going into the battery... It's basically as simple as that...