• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Antenna for Drake 2b

bosco

Nov 19, 2010
I am a newbie DXer owning a Drake 2b receiver.

I am asking for help for suggestions for a multi band antenna for listening only.

I don't have much room to put up a dipole antenna unless it is an "inverted v".
I would prefer a vertical or something else.

Any help would be appreciated.

bosco,
Never had the '2B', but did have a '2C'! Wish I still had it, they are very nice receivers, one of the absolute best for their time period. All things considered, they would certainly hold their own today.
Almost anything can be used as a receiving antenna, it only has to be electrically conductive. A resonant antenna tends to do a better job than a non-resonant antenna, but that's only a matter of degree, and certainly not something that should restrict your choices. Longer tends to be better than shorter antennas. That's a relative thing concerning the frequency of use and wave lengths. The polarity of an antenna will also determine how well you hear a signal. That's sort of "iffy" because polarity can, and does, change if that received signal has taken a 'bounce' because of 'skip' (propagation). The 'shape' and 'type' of antenna is important because of all of the above, some will be beneficial, some not. The practical aspects, where you have space to hang, or erect the antenna will play a part with what 'type' of antenna you can have. Have lots of trees? Probably a horizontally strung antenna would be easier to put up than a vertical one (unless you have a particularly tall tree?). If you have a tower, mast, whatever, hanging an antenna from one certainly is an idea. All kinds of considerations for what would be convenient or not.