• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

C.B Help...

T23

Apr 17, 2010
Well I wanted to have an SSB radio as my base station I have my 19 AMP 13.8 volt power supply hooked to my JCPenny 981-6247 and I connected my Turner Super Sidekick to my radio, I was told by a forum member that these JCPenny radios were 4-pin standard, but apparently not, when I connected my Turner to my radio it squealed loudly and I immediately turned it off, after dismantling the original cheapo stock mic I found it was NOT 4-pin standard, so I rewired another cheap mic to test the radio to make sure it was not damaged, Could the radio be damaged still though? It apparently works, should I bother rewiring my mic to it now? If so should I rewire the radios mic plug or the mic?

T23

I'm no expert on these things but I think I can answer this one.

rewire the mic properly and try it again. You can damage a radio by hooking up a miss wired mic but if you disconnected it or turned off the radio quickly when it started squealing than it most likely will be still ok. be sure its not just a feedback problem by turning the mic gain down some.

If you do a search for JCPenny 981-6247 you will find on this site that someone stated the radios mic socket is wired the same as a 4 pin cobra.

It's not wired the same as 4-pin cobra, the mic I rewired was a 4-pin cobra until I rewired it from looking at the original JCPenny Mic, I know the turner is 4-pin I have used it with my 89XLR base which is cobra 4-pin.

Heres the original mic wiring :

Sheaild to pin 1
Red to pin 2
White to pin 3
Black to pin 4

Heres how I rewired a Uniden bearcat mic to work, which was 4 pin I believe :

Shield to pin 1
Yellow to pin 2
Red to pin 3
Black to pin 4

T23