• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Can this really happen?

BammBamm

Instigators ...173 on the southside.
May 24, 2010
Steger,Illinois
On my way home from work today and had my 148 gtl in the truck with a 102 SS on it. anyway I live in a subdivision and pass a park on my way home daily, well today I stopped to watch a couple of people flying remote control helicopters for like 2 minutes. I then went home and got in the shower (I'm a Mechanic) my wife comes to the bathroom telling me that a cop is at the front door and wants to speak to me about my "truck with the antenna on it". To make a long story shorter I am being accused of using my radio to purposely cause one of these guys to lose control of his R/C helicopter and crash it. He demanded a police report and says he will be taking me to small claims court. I have a R/C car and it states on the remote that it must accept all interference, Wouldn't it be the same for a helicopter or am I going to be buying someone a new toy? To make matters worse this is not a cheap R/C it was pretty big like 8 inches wide and maybe 2 foot long. The blades on top where busted off and the plastic is cracked all the way down one side and the tube going to the rear propeller is bent. My wife is now giving me a hard time and saying that I should take my radio out of my truck as she knew it would cause problems.

If you were:

Talking on the "A" channels (3A, 7A, 11A, 15A, and 19A).

Using too much power/mic gain too high and cause bleedover into those above freqs.

Using a linear with that radio while having the modulation in the radio too high (more than 100% mod.).

Then, yes, it could happen.
Even if it was accidental; you would still be liable.