1. Marconi is the winner of the December WDX CB Club DX Contest! Please Congratulate him here!

Cobra 29 LTD no power

Discussion in 'CB and Export Equipment and Accessories' started by 1998f150wes, Apr 24, 2011.

  1. 1998f150wes

    1998f150wes Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    okay ive got all my wiring done right and want to know why when i plug my cb in nothing happens i tested power inside and out i read somewhere it could be this little dilode but i dont know where its at but anyways can anyone help me with this


     
    #1

  2. cbradiomagazine.com

    cbradiomagazine.com 2008 - 2014 / Pau Hana

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    165
    Did you check the fuse in the power cord?

    Do you have a multimeter to verify you have power at the end if the power cord?

    Instruction video on how to identify and replace the protection diode is on my website.
     
    #2
  3. Robb

    Robb Yup

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    8,287
    Likes Received:
    1,056
    #3
  4. 1998f150wes

    1998f150wes Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    where is the D23 Dilode in the CB and where can i get the part
     
    #4
  5. Robb

    Robb Yup

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    8,287
    Likes Received:
    1,056
    Its a common diode. If there is a Radio Shack near you; they probably have it. There is a band/stripe on one end of this diode. The replacement diode has to be put in with that band turned/pointed the same way as the one you take out. It is near the power plug area of the radio.
     
    #5
  6. GnG8d

    GnG8d Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,037
    Likes Received:
    317
    If you look around you might be able to find an instruction video on how to change it.
     
    #6
  7. 1998f150wes

    1998f150wes Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    im running a 5amp on my 29ltd will that blow the dilode cause before i was running a 30 amp
     
    #7
  8. Robb

    Robb Yup

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    8,287
    Likes Received:
    1,056
    #8
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2011
  9. 1998f150wes

    1998f150wes Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    i watched you video and my diode does not break apart what else would be the proplem if thats not it
     
    #9
  10. Watergate

    Watergate Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    230
    Just replace it if you can unsolder/solder. The part might cost you .99 cents if you over-pay for it. They don't always crumble apart when they are bad.
     
    #10
  11. office888

    office888 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    9
    Check it with a multi-meter. It should only pass voltage in one direction.
     
    #11

Share This Page