• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Galaxy dx949 ssb swr problem update

BammBamm

Instigators ...173 on the southside.
May 24, 2010
Steger,Illinois
A few of you where trying to help me with a SWR problem I am having on sideband. Well I was bored so I started playing with it again and I found the power supply made no difference along with the antenna but I found a 50' piece of RG-8x I had laying around and for the heck of it I ran it from radio to antenna and everything works fine!? But if I hook up my Browning 400 my sideband problems come back. I ohm tested the 400 for shorts and it comes back fine and I just bought this about a week ago and had the shop install the ends and they are amphenols. I am going to run it back to the shop on Monday and have them check and re solder the ends for me I would have today but just got off work and they are closed until Monday. With either coax my AM SWR is 1.1 on ch#1 and 1.2 on ch# 40. Thanks for all the help from those who replied and we will see on Monday evening what happens.

Why are you trying to test your SWR on SSB? You have to have a carrier for your SWR meter to work properly. This is why you only check/set SWR on AM. Your local shop that you bought the coax from will tell you that. There is nothing wrong with your system if your SWR is that low on AM.

Why are you trying to test your SWR on SSB? You have to have a carrier for your SWR meter to work properly. This is why you only check/set SWR on AM. Your local shop that you bought the coax from will tell you that. There is nothing wrong with your system if your SWR is that low on AM.

The only way to check swrs on ssb is to put a steady tone in the mic then calibrate and so on. You can use a cross needle meter too.