• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Help please! I think I broke something

iiiquaziii

Jan 17, 2014
Buffalo NY
I'm still kinda new to the radio scene and learning. Please bear with my lack of experience. If this question is not in the right area of the forum, I apologize. I need some help.

I think my radio broke tonite. I have an ICOM 718, and a MFJ Versa Tuner II antenna tuner, and a couple antennas.

The story:

I just got a free second hand receiver from a guy I know. Its an old Realistic DX-200. I wanted to test out the receiver and see if it was working. I got on the icom, and was doing some very low power call-outs (to myself really) at like 5watts. I could hear myself thru the tuner but it was distorted. I figured the distortion was because it's so physically close to my radio (right next to it), so I called my buddy across town on the phone to have him get on the air, to see how he sounded. He got on, and started calling out to me, but when I tried to call to him via the ICOM 718, I was no longer transmitting. He, and the other fellow that happened to be on the frequency couldn't hear me at all....though I could hear them perfectly. I could also no longer hear myself on the Realistic receiver that I was trying to test in the first place.

I tried a few different bands, at a few different power levels. I also tried bypassing my MFJ antenna tuner, and going straight from my ICOM 718 to the antenna.....no difference. Nobody can hear me.

I DO see the radio kick over into transmit mode when I key off. The integrated power output meter on the ICOM 718 reads nothing though. Also, the needles on the MFJ antenna tuner don't even twitch when I key off.