1. Notice: This site will be offline for maintenance and upgrades on Sunday, Aug 2nd. It will likely be down for several hours.
  2. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

I found a TRC-432. What do ya think?

Discussion in 'CB and Export Equipment and Accessories' started by KC9LJO, Sep 23, 2007.

  1. KC9LJO

    KC9LJO Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    I found a Realistic TRC-432. It is in nice shape, even had the owner's manual. Everything works. Seems like a decent rig. Definitaly worth the $5.00 I payed. Wondering if anyone has any expierience with these? And any tips or tricks for add-ons, ect.
    Thanks,
    KC9LJO


     

  2. Unit 194

    Unit 194 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    61
    For $5.00 you can't go wrong !
     
  3. Switch Kit

    Switch Kit Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,517
    Likes Received:
    12
    L3,4 and 5 is power ,you can change R56 to a different value to get closer to 100% audio , or you can be a bad boy and clip it. I can already hear the moans and groans from the peanut gallery. Have fun !
     
  4. lords

    lords Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    772
    Likes Received:
    0
    yep last one I did up got me 4 swinging 17 :p
     
  5. bushwacker

    bushwacker Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    LOL..... yea if your just going to use the stock mic you can clip it if you want.
    Good advice as usual Switch.
     
  6. KC9LJO

    KC9LJO Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I "clip it" what happens to my modulation? As opposed to turning it up all the way?
    Thanks,
    KC9LJO
     
  7. hotrod

    hotrod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,204
    Likes Received:
    135
    hey for 5 bucks cant go wrong.now just hookup a big antenna
    to it and youll be fine
     
  8. Switch Kit

    Switch Kit Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,517
    Likes Received:
    12
    that radio does not have a VR in it , so either changing the resistor to account for more audio or clipping it would open it all up so to speak , sometimes it really isn't that much to notice and other times it can sound raspy ......so to speak. Hence just using the stock mic there after or even a NC type mic. Now if you were running power and the box really only needed about a 1 to 2 drive into it ? bringing the watts down on the radio would also increase the audio automatically without doing anything to it. For all I know ? that radio sounds just fine the way it is ? I honestly wouldn't know unless it was benched. If your just looking for a nice sounding stock radio , I'd just leave it alone and add a power type mic to it, would help your cause a bit.I've heard so many out of the box stock radios that always sounded excellent the way they were without any golden screwdrivers added , but there have been many that needed all the help they could get )-: Many radios that were clipped also sounded very good , what they do as far as TVI and Bleedover is one thing , how they sound to others is another. The other major plus for any stock cb radio out of the box is your antenna system .......Having a good set up there is a major plus to any radio set up. Here tell 90% of every radio/amp set up is all about the mighty ANTENNA.
     
  9. hotrod

    hotrod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,204
    Likes Received:
    135
    well after some looking one site says for audio rv202
    look for that rv.DONT adjust any other one
     
  10. KC2OST

    KC2OST BANNED

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Usually cutting something or adjusting the vr wide open has the same effect.
     
  11. hotrod

    hotrod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,204
    Likes Received:
    135
    yes xon a meter it will look the same.however on a scope
    youll see the difference.the rasdio with the vr wide open
    and limiter will have cleaner audio not overmodulated.
    the one with a missing limiter will have the same maybe more
    pep on a meter but on a scope it shows just how much
    the radio is overmodulated
     
  12. Switch Kit

    Switch Kit Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,517
    Likes Received:
    12
    Ain't so many of us lucky that we don't have conversations with machines ? But then again , you never know now . do yah ? :p
     
  13. kevin IB/379 Stringbean

    kevin IB/379 Stringbean Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    1
    [quote or you can be a bad boy and clip it. I can already hear the moans and groans from the peanut gallery. Have fun ![/quote]
    Your too funny SWITCH !!!!
     
  14. nightwatch

    nightwatch Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow,..5 bucks,...what a deal!!! :)
     
  15. Zman

    Zman K9FON

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    984
    Likes Received:
    98
    Some of those old Realistic AM bases sound good!!! I had a TRC 440 that was just plain loud on AM!!! Id never turn one down for a fair pice!!!
     

Share This Page