1. In celebration of the launch of the new redesigned site, we just gave away a FREE antenna! Click Here to See Who Won!

I found a TRC-432. What do ya think?

Discussion in 'CB and Export Equipment and Accessories' started by KC9LJO, Sep 23, 2007.

  1. KC9LJO Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    I found a Realistic TRC-432. It is in nice shape, even had the owner's manual. Everything works. Seems like a decent rig. Definitaly worth the $5.00 I payed. Wondering if anyone has any expierience with these? And any tips or tricks for add-ons, ect.
    Thanks,
    KC9LJO


     
    #1
  2. Unit 194 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    55
    For $5.00 you can't go wrong !
     
    #2
  3. Switch Kit Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,517
    Likes Received:
    11
    L3,4 and 5 is power ,you can change R56 to a different value to get closer to 100% audio , or you can be a bad boy and clip it. I can already hear the moans and groans from the peanut gallery. Have fun !
     
    #3
  4. lords Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    772
    Likes Received:
    0
    yep last one I did up got me 4 swinging 17 :p
     
    #4
  5. bushwacker Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    LOL..... yea if your just going to use the stock mic you can clip it if you want.
    Good advice as usual Switch.
     
    #5
  6. KC9LJO Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I "clip it" what happens to my modulation? As opposed to turning it up all the way?
    Thanks,
    KC9LJO
     
    #6
  7. hotrod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,071
    Likes Received:
    111
    hey for 5 bucks cant go wrong.now just hookup a big antenna
    to it and youll be fine
     
    #7
  8. Switch Kit Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,517
    Likes Received:
    11
    that radio does not have a VR in it , so either changing the resistor to account for more audio or clipping it would open it all up so to speak , sometimes it really isn't that much to notice and other times it can sound raspy ......so to speak. Hence just using the stock mic there after or even a NC type mic. Now if you were running power and the box really only needed about a 1 to 2 drive into it ? bringing the watts down on the radio would also increase the audio automatically without doing anything to it. For all I know ? that radio sounds just fine the way it is ? I honestly wouldn't know unless it was benched. If your just looking for a nice sounding stock radio , I'd just leave it alone and add a power type mic to it, would help your cause a bit.I've heard so many out of the box stock radios that always sounded excellent the way they were without any golden screwdrivers added , but there have been many that needed all the help they could get )-: Many radios that were clipped also sounded very good , what they do as far as TVI and Bleedover is one thing , how they sound to others is another. The other major plus for any stock cb radio out of the box is your antenna system .......Having a good set up there is a major plus to any radio set up. Here tell 90% of every radio/amp set up is all about the mighty ANTENNA.
     
    #8
  9. hotrod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,071
    Likes Received:
    111
    well after some looking one site says for audio rv202
    look for that rv.DONT adjust any other one
     
    #9
  10. KC2OST BANNED

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Usually cutting something or adjusting the vr wide open has the same effect.
     
    #10
  11. hotrod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,071
    Likes Received:
    111
    yes xon a meter it will look the same.however on a scope
    youll see the difference.the rasdio with the vr wide open
    and limiter will have cleaner audio not overmodulated.
    the one with a missing limiter will have the same maybe more
    pep on a meter but on a scope it shows just how much
    the radio is overmodulated
     
    #11
  12. Switch Kit Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,517
    Likes Received:
    11
    Ain't so many of us lucky that we don't have conversations with machines ? But then again , you never know now . do yah ? :p
     
    #12
  13. kevin IB/379 Stringbean Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    1
    [quote or you can be a bad boy and clip it. I can already hear the moans and groans from the peanut gallery. Have fun ![/quote]
    Your too funny SWITCH !!!!
     
    #13
  14. nightwatch Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow,..5 bucks,...what a deal!!! :)
     
    #14
  15. Zman K9FON

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    984
    Likes Received:
    97
    Some of those old Realistic AM bases sound good!!! I had a TRC 440 that was just plain loud on AM!!! Id never turn one down for a fair pice!!!
     
    #15

Share This Page