1. In celebration of the launch of the new redesigned site, we just gave away a FREE antenna! Click Here to See Who Won!

ICOM IC-7000 programming cable help

Discussion in 'Ham Equipment' started by Se7en, Feb 16, 2012.

  1. Se7en Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    198
    Where what and who do i buy the cable from i really don't want to spend more then $30.00 for it. i have read that its True china cables wont work with Ham radio delux. yes i have herd it is FALSE. so i need to know? i use the 7000 on the base i might as well interface it with my windows Vista and Fios.(y)


     
    #1
  2. Mudfoot Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    7,404
    Likes Received:
    2,150
    Order it from Mama China.

    You will be satisfied.

    The ones that can't get it to work are usually computer stupid, get frustrated and cry about the cable.
     
    #2
  3. Moleculo Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    8,342
    Likes Received:
    533
    For about $10 you have what you need for programming and CIV control. This is what I use:

    IC-7000 cable | eBay

    You still need a sound card interface for digital modes...
     
    #3
  4. ONAWHIM Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trying to learn something here..

    Is this a direct connection from a PC to the IC-7000 or PC to the C-17 level converter?

    Thanks
     
    #4
  5. KC9Q Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    42
    I have one from RadioShack that I use for my IC-7000. It is Model #20-546, and cost $34.99, has a USB to 3.5mm connector (either stereo or mono via an adaptor jumper). The old version (20-047) came with a Driver CD, but the new one requires downloading from the Internet. Hope that helps.

    73,
    Mike
     
    #5
  6. Se7en Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    198
    Thanks all. Im not pc dumb. All u have to do is fine the correct com port to communicate with the radio and pc. Ill buy the one from chickity china. I figured it was pcretarded people might just not get the concept. To the guy it is for ham radio deluxe. Might aswell use it with the new pc. I don't do digital rtty psk yet.

    Sent from Outerspace, on the DarkSide of X.
     
    #6
  7. Robb Yup

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    8,018
    Likes Received:
    959
    After I bought a cable from China, I will never do that again. They said it was 6 ft long; it was only 3 ft long. Said it would work with my radio, it didn't. I bought one from 'Affordable Radio' for a few more bucks; but it was all that it claimed to be.
    I recommend them:

    6' USB CI-V CT-17 CAT Cable Icom IC-756 IC-7000 IC-7800 | eBay
     
    #7
  8. Se7en Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    198
    What radio were u using it on ? Sometimes I get broken new stuff from china but there good at ems a replacement free of charge.

    Sent from Outerspace, on the DarkSide of X.
     
    #8
  9. Robb Yup

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    8,018
    Likes Received:
    959
    Kenwood TS-2000.
    Never buy another Chinese cable unless they get it right first . . . Then, I'll think about it . . .
     
    #9
    1 person likes this.
  10. Mudfoot Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    7,404
    Likes Received:
    2,150
    Where was your present cable made?
     
    #10
  11. Robb Yup

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    8,018
    Likes Received:
    959
    'Affordable Radio'.
    The link for your radio cable is in a previous post above - BTW.
     
    #11
  12. Mudfoot Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    7,404
    Likes Received:
    2,150
    But was the cable made in China?
     
    #12
  13. Robb Yup

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    8,018
    Likes Received:
    959
    Hmm . . . can't rightly say . . .
    The seller is out of Niagara Falls, NY. If he gets them from China - I can't say. But I can say that the cable arrived and worked as described. That works for me.

    The first cable I ordered and then had to return - was ordered directly out of China thru eBay. That was a fiasco that I don't want to repeat nor would I want to see someone else make the same mistake that I did. Huge mess. Buy from 'Affordable Radio' on eBay and just save yerself the time and the trouble . . .
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2012
    #13
    1 person likes this.
  14. WR0220 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    19
    The cable offered in those listings by suntekstore for $8.99 w/free shipping is the one I purchased and used prior to getting a RigBlaster Pro. It worked like a charm with no problems at all. Shipping took about 2 weeks, but I knew that prior to purchase so it wasn't a big deal to me.
     
    #14
  15. Se7en Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    198
    i am about to purchase that one too. comes with that little driver CD. now it appears some cables have one black ring while others show 2 black rings.... that is interesting....? like one is mono while the others is stereo
     
    #15

Share This Page