1. In celebration of the launch of the new redesigned site, we just gave away a FREE antenna! Click Here to See Who Won!

Icom IC-7000 receive problem?

Discussion in 'Ham Equipment' started by Se7en, Mar 14, 2012.

  1. Se7en

    Se7en Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    199
    Normally when i use my VFO to scroll through frequency's the sound is smooth. Today/Now, I have notice when every digit turns it cuts out.... sorta sounds like a playing card through the spokes of a bicycle....the faster you spin the vfo knob the faster it makes that "tick" noise weird.. Any ideas on whats going on, Maybe a setting was changed by accident?


     
    #1
  2. Happy_Hamer

    Happy_Hamer Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2001
    Messages:
    5,043
    Likes Received:
    126
    Did you slide the VFO tension adjustment to click mode?

    Look at the little black tab to the right of the VFO knob that slides to adjust the tension, it has a click mode as well.

    Page i-2 and i-3 of the manual

    vfotension.jpg


     
    #2
  3. Se7en

    Se7en Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    199
    I know about that. No its coming from the speaker.... I'll make a video of it this afternoon. Its really bad on AM & FM.
     
    #3
  4. KC9Q

    KC9Q Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    42
    Are you tuning VFO A or B, or are you tuning a memory bank?

    I'm interested myself. I haven't had that happen with my IC7000 yet.
     
    #4
  5. Se7en

    Se7en Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    199
    I just checked this morning and from 21MHz down to 30KHz its rough. Between 22MHz and 440MHz its smooth and doesn't do it? here is a video listen carefully:

    I will have to post link after it uploads please stand by
    @KC9Q i have always used VFO A never bothered using VFO B.
     
    #5
  6. Se7en

    Se7en Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    199
    here it is

    Dfgjki - YouTube
     
    #6
  7. hookedon6

    hookedon6 W9WDX Amateur Radio Club Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,483
    Likes Received:
    234
    plug in some headphones and use the MONI selection ,............ does it still make the noise in the headfones?
     
    #7
  8. Mudfoot

    Mudfoot Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    7,469
    Likes Received:
    2,171
    Hook your rig to a battery and shut off your mains to rule out RFI within your shack.
     
    #8
  9. hookedon6

    hookedon6 W9WDX Amateur Radio Club Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,483
    Likes Received:
    234
    the noise is an INTERNAL noise generated by the VFO multipler or possibly the marker generator ...

    unless is has the CB,........ err,.............. Mars mod and the band pass filters are 'effed up
     
    #9
    1 person likes this.
  10. Se7en

    Se7en Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    199
    Does indeed have the mars mod, but i have never transmitted there.
    does nto have the TV mod.

    how do bandpass filter break?
    Why does this only happen on HF and not 12 meters and above?
    I will also add i have noticed when i turn the radio on the external speaker makes an annoying POP sound, and when headphones are plugged in the POP is so loud you cant have the headphones on! the power supply is pushing a steady 14.3VDC. when i get home ill try the rig on a battery and shut all the power off in the house. This really sucks because i dont abuse or misuse this radio.
     
    #10
  11. Se7en

    Se7en Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    199
    Okay just tryied it with headphones and it sounds much worse and it seems 20m shows the worse clipping. I also tried it on a battery and it still does it so I dont know what is up.
     
    #11
  12. Happy_Hamer

    Happy_Hamer Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2001
    Messages:
    5,043
    Likes Received:
    126
    Have you considered trying a full reset?

    Page 25 of the manual

    CPURESET.jpg
     
    #12
  13. Se7en

    Se7en Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    199
    Before I do that, I have a cable since I use the radio via H.R.D. Can I back up my programmed frequency's some how ? I don't have any software and it would really help to get freeware....cause I have a feeling im going to be slapped in the face by icom with a huge repair bill.
     
    #13
  14. wile2u

    wile2u W9WDX Amateur Radio Club Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    5
    do you have it hooked up to a computer for CAT control ? if so that is where my money is. crap i just read you above post.. disconnect your CI-V control line.
     
    #14
  15. Se7en

    Se7en Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    199
    Woa the reply woke me up. Let me try it right now. I did forget to unplug that cable.
     
    #15

Share This Page