1. In celebration of the launch of the new redesigned site, we just gave away a FREE antenna! Click Here to See Who Won!

Kenwood TH-F6A programming software confirmation

Discussion in 'Ham Equipment' started by Need2Know, Mar 1, 2012.

  1. Need2Know

    Need2Know KK4GMU - The Villages, FL

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    7
    I'm learning the TH-F6a HT programming software for which there is not a lot of instruction.

    Can you confirm if I've entered the following data into the window, below, correctly before I enter a dozen more incorrectly:

    Station name: K4VRC
    RX: 443.225
    TX: 448.225
    PL: 103.5


    [​IMG]
    Repeater

    I've separated groups of stations into three memory groups:

    Local area nets is in Group 1 (Channels 1 through 49)
    Nearby repeaters in Group 2 (Channels 50 through 99; I need to move this first "repeater" entry to Channel 50)
    Public Safety channels in Group 3 (Channel 100 trhough 149)

    Any more programming "words of wisdom?"


     
    #1
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2012
  2. K5WRN

    K5WRN Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just picked up this radio today. I haven't had the opportunity yet to research the programming software. Does anyone know if there is a Linux compatible version, or if the Windows version will run with Wine?

    Sent from a mobile device via Tapatalk
     
    #2
  3. Moleculo

    Moleculo Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    8,466
    Likes Received:
    586
    Looks good to me (y)
     
    #3
  4. Moleculo

    Moleculo Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    8,466
    Likes Received:
    586
    I don't use Linux much, hardly ever. However, I would think the Windows version would work with wine?
     
    #4
  5. JVT

    JVT Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    programming

    I dont see a + or - on your offset but it looks correct. I wouldn't worry much It is easy to correct if you don't make the repeater.
     
    #5
  6. Need2Know

    Need2Know KK4GMU - The Villages, FL

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    7
    Well, it looks like I'm making a shift to the RT Systems USB cable and programming software. I guess I'm rather fickle when it comes to technology I'm not comfortable with. The serial/USB converter I ordered would probably be touch and go - it might work - it might not - so I am told. So I'm returning $100 worth of Kenwood serial programming cables back to GigiParts and getting $99 worth of RT Systems USB cables and programming software for my 2 Kenwood radios.

    The hour's worth of data entry into the 6A programming software won't go to waste. It was a good learning experience. I doubt that I will be able to simply copy and paste the Kenwood channel data into the RT Systems' spreadsheet format. But at least I know that when one radio's programming is complete, I can just port it over to the other radio via the RT System software. Not sure it is that simple using the Kenwood software for 2 different models of radios designed 10 years apart.
     
    #6
  7. Need2Know

    Need2Know KK4GMU - The Villages, FL

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    7
    The offset is 5.00 MHz and the "Plus Shift" circle is highlighted. I guess that's the way it works.:unsure:
     
    #7
  8. ka4kam

    ka4kam Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I like the RT software I got it for my icom 92ad and it was pretty simple to use I got it for my kenwood th72ad it was cool just downloaded it from their website and used the USB cable supplied by kenwood. no need for extra cables to buy.
     
    #8
  9. Need2Know

    Need2Know KK4GMU - The Villages, FL

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    7
    Yeah, I like the 72 - it's one of the few HTs that has a USB jack on it. Saves A LOT of hassle.
     
    #9

Share This Page