• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

LMR-400 Coax & Base Antenna installation questions!

ebayguy

Dak IV & Galaxy DX-88HL
Oct 18, 2011
Potomac, MD
I am awaiting a Solarcon Base antenna,:headbang so I can get my base up and running on 11M band. I am setting up in my basement, and planning on putting the Solarcon on the peak, via a DirecTV/DishNetwork J-Arm(with the support struts), and 4ft fiberglass masts. Not sure how many masts yet, as I am afraid of heights.(I ordered 12, for a total of 45.5' fully assembled) I am pretty sure that the connector end of the masts will fit inside the J-Arm. I am new to the base setup, so please forgive my ignorance. Here are my questions;:confused:

#1, Is it acceptable(without raising my SWR's), to install the LMR-400 coax thru the steel J-Arm, and up thru the fiberglass masts? I am pretty sure that going thru the fiberglass isn't a problem, but the metal!!! I don't know.

#2, If so, do I loop the coax out of the top of the mast, to the bottom of the antenna?

#3, Should I use stand-offs to run the coax up the side of the house, or am I being paranoid? The J-Arm came with the support struts to hold most of the weight!

#4 How high is high enough, to use guy wire?

Any, and all help is appreciated. Thanks....

Last edited:

Can u post any pics of the mount?

Running the coax as you describe is fine, no stand offs needed unless you want to dress things up.

I just worry about torsion and lateral forces affecting the dish mount. Those verticals can really whip around.

I might not fully understand how you propose to mount everything.

I hope this helps. I haven't installed it yet, so I can't give you an installed shot.

Attachments

• J-Arm Mount.jpg
    J-Arm Mount.jpg
    48.1 KB · Views: 89