1. In celebration of the launch of the new redesigned site, we just gave away a FREE antenna! Click Here to See Who Won!

Maco v quad installation help

Discussion in 'CB Antennas' started by bestro, Feb 28, 2012.

  1. bestro

    bestro Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a maco v quad an need a little help with installation.I will be mounting it on my roof 2 the chimmeny with a chimmeny mount.The chimmeny is 2.5' tall.My question is how long should my mast be from the chimmeny 2 the rotor an rotor 2 v quad..I was thinking in the range of 4' mast 2 rotor an 1' mast between rotor an v quad.Am I in the right range.Using 1 1/4 diam mast pole...U follow me...Did i explain it right..please help....148 GTL Texas star DX-500-RG 8X coax....


     
    #1
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2012
  2. Robb

    Robb Yup

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    8,153
    Likes Received:
    995
    How high off of the ground to the base of the antenna?
     
    #2
  3. bestro

    bestro Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im not sure but if i had 2 guess i would say 40'..My house has 3 floors.Thats 40' to the bottom of the chimmeny.
     
    #3
  4. Robb

    Robb Yup

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    8,153
    Likes Received:
    995
    Should work just fine . . .
     
    #4
  5. bestro

    bestro Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Robb.1 more thing should i make a rf choke an if so how big should the loop be.Thxs again.
     
    #5
  6. Robb

    Robb Yup

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    8,153
    Likes Received:
    995
    Wouldn't hurt to put one on.
    5 turns of RG-58 coax on a 4 inch PVC coil form below the feed point and not touching any metal of the mast should work OK.
     
    #6
  7. wavrider

    wavrider W9WDX Amateur Radio Club Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,118
    Likes Received:
    316
    The V quad if I am not mistaken uses a gamma match to adjust the impedance.

    An RF choke is not needed to prevent CMC, but as ROBB said it sure would not hurt anything.

    If you live in a windy location the chimney mount may vibrate in the wind eventually cracking the mortar between the bricks on the chimney.
     
    #7
  8. n0zna

    n0zna W9WDX Amateur Radio Club Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,253
    Likes Received:
    140
    dont

    put it on chimmney mnt,it wont hold durring winds,it has a good wind load and ice load,73 de JW
     
    #8
  9. bestro

    bestro Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I really have no other option.The v quad is 7 or 8 lbs the rotor another 4 lbs.A 4' mast 2 hold the rotor and a 1' mast between rotor an v quad.Thats about 12 or 13 lbs.That would bring down the chimmeny.I figure if i keep the mast short it would'nt move a lot.short an stout.Less vibration...How do i ground my station an antenna...Please help an thanks 4 the get back.
     
    #9
  10. wavrider

    wavrider W9WDX Amateur Radio Club Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,118
    Likes Received:
    316
    #10
    Last edited: Feb 29, 2012
  11. gamegetter

    gamegetter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,346
    Likes Received:
    123
    greetings;

    i would not be drilling any holes into the chimney, if i'm seeing it right this sounds to be a small chimney to vent gases maybe from a gas furnace or other gas appliance but let us know if it is other wise.

    i would check the integrity of the mortar and bricks well. I lived in an older house built in the 40's at one time and the mortar was falling apart after 45 odd years just from the elements alone.

    My preference(if the integrity of the chimney is good) would be to use mounting hardware with stainless steel straps that wrap around the entire chimney.

    Some folks say that standard antenna mounts are ok, but i like to be sure because there are considerable wind forces on the mast and antenna.

    What would be worst case scenario, the chimney crumbles you may or may not be able to use said appliance, you hire a mason to rebuild you a chimney, then you buy a separate mast or tower. Just thinking outloud here, i like to think things through.

    Hope this helps out and not hinders any. Best of luck
     
    #11
  12. Lefty

    Lefty W9WDX Amateur Radio Club Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    20
    I use a Mosley TA33JR mounted on my garage. I used a 3' tripod from Radio Shack. 5' mast to the rotor, then another 5' to the beam. I also guyed the bottom of the rotor to the roof to cut down twisting and spread out the wind load. Braced in the rafters, used stainless bolts and lots of silicon to seal. Been up for about 10 years and still running strong. No leaks in to roof either.
     
    #12
  13. GnG8d

    GnG8d Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2,037
    Likes Received:
    315
    A gamma fed antenna won't create CMC?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    #13
  14. wavrider

    wavrider W9WDX Amateur Radio Club Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,118
    Likes Received:
    316
    The transmission line (coax) shield is not part of the antenna or counter poise per say.

    Common mode current

    Some reading on CMC.

    The Gamma match provides a transition from unbalanced coax to balanced antenna. Adjusting the Gamma for lowest Z or VSWR if only a VSWR meter is available will usually eliminate CMC as equal but opposite currents are flowing on the transmission line.

    I have never seen a yagi excited with proper drive cause CMC, now I have seen amplifiers being over driven into saturation and beyond cause splatter but the yagi can not be blamed for the splatter, the operator sure can.
     
    #14
    Last edited: Feb 29, 2012
  15. Needle Bender

    Needle Bender Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    927
    Likes Received:
    104
    I used the bottom 3 sections of a heavy-duty 5 section telescoping TV mast for my 13' long (.2 /.15) 3 element quad.
    The bottom telescoping section was 10' and I had the next two extended 9' and 8' respectively, plus a 30" mast coming from the top of the HD-73 rotator. This was all on a 20' roof peak and guyed 4 directions so the boom was right at 50'.
    Having no tower it was all I could do, and it lasted for over 10 years without issue before I took it down to try something different.
    I didn't use a tripod at the bottom, I simply walked it up and set the bottom of the mast into the roof-mounting base (after setting the 12 well-insulated guy wires during a dry-run without an antenna on it) with the beam and rotator installed but collapsed down to about 15' total, then I leaned a ladder against the mast and pushed up the 2 top sections until the I saw the marks, then tightened the turnbuckles until taught & true.
    It was a little hair-raising but it only took an hour or so afterword for my nuts to drop back down. :redface:
     
    #15

Share This Page