1. In celebration of the launch of the new redesigned site, we just gave away a FREE antenna! Click Here to See Who Won!

MFJ duplexer How to

Discussion in 'Ham Equipment' started by dxing440, Mar 4, 2012.

  1. dxing440

    dxing440 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    10
    Ive got a cobra 29 lx and a rci 2950 and only 1 antron. The 29 is for 11M and 2950 is 10M. Is a duplexer what i need to operate both radios on 1 antenna?
    And, does the (Radio) im not using, need to be OFF? Or does it matter?


     
    #1
  2. KingCobra_CDX882

    KingCobra_CDX882 W9WDX Amateur Radio Club Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    2,037
    Likes Received:
    42
    Yes...

    and Yes...only need one radio t a time on anyways..and no need for spatter over un used radio by leaving it on and thus also causing feedback likely
     
    #2
  3. Captain Kilowatt

    Captain Kilowatt Professional Amateur Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    11,401
    Likes Received:
    2,846
    I have never seen nor heard of a duplexer for 10 and 11m. The bands are too close for a duplexer to filter and split the two bands. A GOOD switch with high isolation is what is needed and yes, turn the unused radio off.
     
    #3
    1 person likes this.
  4. hookedon6

    hookedon6 W9WDX Amateur Radio Club Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,483
    Likes Received:
    234
    Jessejamesdallis returned my signature but it was broken so I had it sent out for repairs.


    Alex,...... can I buy a vowel? I'll buy an "A"
     
    #4
  5. Captain Kilowatt

    Captain Kilowatt Professional Amateur Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    11,401
    Likes Received:
    2,846

    :unsure: All I can say is (1)- It was in the wee hours of the morning on the night shift, (2)- I was at work at the time, and (3)- using a phone online to edit text is not a good idea considering the first two excuses. :blink: Now what does that have to do with duplexers? :whistle:Notice how I changed the subject to divert attention to my glaring error. Thanks for being subtle about it. :laugh:
     
    #5
    1 person likes this.
  6. RatsoW8

    RatsoW8 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    608
    No you don't use a duplexer for 10 and 11 meters. I think MFJ makes a switch similar to an antenna switch that lets you switch between several different radios and antennas or just one antenna. This is what you need.
     
    #6
  7. dxing440

    dxing440 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    10
    Thx for the replies, I did get an mfj 2pos antenna switch at the birminghamfest this past week end, and it works great. THX AGAIN
     
    #7

Share This Page