• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

My First CB Radio Contact

Angler

Aug 7, 2011
AuSable River
I finally got everything set-up on my first cb radio and made my first contact. Yesterday, after installing the antenna and hooking everything up, I made contact with "Capt. Walker" and chatted with him for about five minutes. I was hearing him very well and he said I was blowing him out of his car. What a relief! I am a total newbie with cb and I was very worried about doing my set-up right. That first contact was a great feeling and I would like to thank everyone for all the info on this forum that I have been trying to understand.

Cobra 142GTL
Imax 2000

I finally got everything set-up on my first cb radio and made my first contact. Yesterday, after installing the antenna and hooking everything up, I made contact with "Capt. Walker" and chatted with him for about five minutes. I was hearing him very well and he said I was blowing him out of his car. What a relief! I am a total newbie with cb and I was very worried about doing my set-up right. That first contact was a great feeling and I would like to thank everyone for all the info on this forum that I have been trying to understand.

Cobra 142GTL
Imax 2000

WTG!! (y)

I am sure you will make many many more. Have fun!! :D

Cobra 142GTL
Imax 2000

where are you located? if you put up a simple horizontal dipole of wire stretched across two points as high as possible you should work dx even better then your vertical in the direction broadside to the dipole. just attach the coax center to one side and the sheild to the other and make each side about 8 feet 7 inches with an insulator on the ends