1. In celebration of the launch of the new redesigned site, we just gave away a FREE antenna! Click Here to See Who Won!

new guy..

Discussion in 'Ham Equipment' started by Jonc, Nov 16, 2010.

  1. Jonc Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    so I'm new here so please go easy on me.
    i recently bought a kenwood tk-780 from some guy, he said it was used for their company that went out of business. My question is what would happen if i start using the channels that are still programmed in the radio?


     
    #1
  2. Robb Yup

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    8,029
    Likes Received:
    960
    First of all, that radio is illegal to use without a license. Next, it has frequencies programmed into it that are probably used by a private business with also had special licensing from the FCC. You might be able to reprogram it; but this requires a special cable for your computer and the software to reprogram with.
     
    #2
  3. Jonc Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    yah i already know of reprogramming it. The business folded so they are not around anymore. So if its illegal for me to use the channels on there, what will i have to do to be able to use these or other channels and also have workers use he radios without hem being licensed?

    Thank You!
     
    #3
  4. Robb Yup

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    8,029
    Likes Received:
    960
    I should have been more clear; my mistake.
    That portion of the band cannot be used unless a license is had, and it is programmed to those particular frequencies.

    The business band is different, a FCC grant is sold to a business to use those freq's. Anyone else found transmitting on that business band will be deemed as interfering, and can be penalized by fines by the FCC for creating this interference.

    It is no use to you - unless you reprogram it and get a license.
     
    #4
  5. Jonc Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    alrite then. i kinda figured something like that.
    well how do i go about getting a business license for a certain frequency or frequencies? and how much do those usually cost?
     
    #5
  6. Robb Yup

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    8,029
    Likes Received:
    960
    Let's me ask you a question: what are you trying to accomplish?
    Even if you got this grant from the FCC - you would have no one to talk to.
    Those that use these frequencies do so in a business framework. They are working construction or are county/city/state employees that are networked together. Or some other large, private company that has field workers. You would be interfering.

    Doubtful the FCC would grant your request anyway; simply because you wouldn't qualify.

    If what you want to do is get on the air to talk to others and don't want/need to get a Ham license, then a CB/'Citizens Band' radio is what you want. The radio you have now cannot and will not work on the CB band - even if it is reprogrammed - it was not engineered for those CB freq's in mind. Additionally, no license is needed for CB and you can talk to others locally and over long distances when atmospheric conditions allow. At that point in time, you might consider getting a Ham license and extending your use of more frequencies and other operating privileges.
     
    #6
  7. GLR Keeping It Good Natured

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,062
    Likes Received:
    115
    Look on the tag on the back of the radio and post exactly what model it is.

    TK-780-what?
     
    #7
  8. GLR Keeping It Good Natured

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,062
    Likes Received:
    115
    after thinking a few seconds, I don't think the model is going to matter.

    program these into your radio:

    151.820 MHz
    151.880 MHz
    151.940 MHz
    154.570 MHz
    154.600 MHz

    maybe you'll find someone to talk to there and you won't go to radio jail for doing so


    edit for more bs

    If you really want to use the system, have workers in the field, your own "private" frequency, etc then you need to contact a frequency coordinator for your area. The last time I went through this I just hired a licensing company. It's not a painful procedure but if you are using it for business purposes you want it done right. Also be aware of the new narrow band requirements coming soon.
     
    #8
  9. Robb Yup

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    8,029
    Likes Received:
    960
    The MURS frequencies can be used with up to 2 watts or transmit power. Might be a problem.
     
    #9
  10. GLR Keeping It Good Natured

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,062
    Likes Received:
    115
    Kind of like the power limitations on cb radio...no one is going to care.

    Those MURS frequencies are the best solution for what he wants to do from what I can tell.
     
    #10
  11. GLR Keeping It Good Natured

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,062
    Likes Received:
    115
    Wait..just to be sure everything is safe, you are going to have to talk really quiet.
     
    #11
  12. Robb Yup

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    8,029
    Likes Received:
    960
    Now he needs to program it and get a 13.8v power supply and the RIGHT antenna ('MURS') for that freq.

    Does he have the programming cable and the software?

    One of the properties of that freq is that it is a 'line-of-sight' distance to broadcast. No skip to South America for this boy . . .
     
    #12
  13. Jonc Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes i know of cb radios, called skip shooting the 11meter band. i've done plenty of it.
    i am trying to set up a network of local stringers (news photographers and videographers) in order to talk to each so we can dispatch each other and help each other out on calls. It would be nice to be able to have coverage to just about our whole county (Ventura County) and CB radio wont cut it, CB radio has too much interference and too crowded and handheld CB's are just way too big. Also i know my radio isn't able to be reprogrammed to the 11meter band. So how would i be able to set up a channel or 2? I also have UHF radios also, i know UHF and VHF cant be used together, as another option i am asking? i have someone that can program my radios for me. that is no big deal.
     
    #13
  14. Robb Yup

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    8,029
    Likes Received:
    960
    Then programming those mentioned MURS freq's might work for you.
    Natural broadcast limitations are to 'line of sight'.

    Could be a problem if you get caught using too much power.
    Not so likely - tho . . .

    That radio transmits 'VHF'
     
    #14
  15. GLR Keeping It Good Natured

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,062
    Likes Received:
    115
    ebay is a great place to find what he'll need cheap including the programming cable

    the software is all over the internet, he'll need kpg-49d
     
    #15

Share This Page