1. In celebration of the launch of the new redesigned site, we just gave away a FREE antenna! Click Here to See Who Won!

New Yaesu FTM-350 programming software by G4HFQ

Discussion in 'Ham Equipment' started by Moleculo, Sep 28, 2010.

  1. Moleculo

    Moleculo Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    8,460
    Likes Received:
    574
    G4HFQ has just released a new application to program and manage the Yaesu FTM-350. I was fortunate enough to receive a beta copy of the software while it was in development and have also received the released version. It works excellent and the best part is that it is only $15!

    [​IMG]

    Here are a few of the key features:

    • Backup/restore of the FTM-350 clone memory
    • Modify memories
    • Add/delete/move memories
    • Manage memory banks
    • Cut/copy/paste memories
    • Sort memories by frequency or name
    • Analyse and report on duplicate frequencies
    • Edit PMS memories
    • Edit VFOs
    • Change the values in the radio's menus and APRS/GPS settings
    • Print memories
    • Import/export using CSV and TravelPlus.

    An FTDI chipset USB/Serial cable is required.

    Here are a few more screen shots:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    You can download a trial or purchase from: G4HFQ Software - FTB350 Details


     
    #1
  2. depark

    depark W9WDX Amateur Radio Club Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    14
    Does the RT Systems cable work? Also how does the software compare to the RT Systems version (Ease of use, General layout, Manual)? I just looked at the
    G4HFQ website and one feature I really like is to be able to transfer files between different radio versions. My club has a default load for their FT-7800's, with this software I can load it to my 350.
     
    #2
  3. Moleculo

    Moleculo Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    8,460
    Likes Received:
    574
    I'm not sure. I don't have the RT Systems FTM-350 software and cable. I looked at the driver for their VX-8 cable (they all use the same driver) and it is an FTDI chipset driver. However, it doesn't present itself as a COM port, so it may not work. Download the trial version and see if you can get it to read the radio with your cable.
     
    #3
  4. KC5NOI

    KC5NOI Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    AWESOME Moleculo! Thanks for posting, I will buy this software tonight! I really hope that the G4HFQ software I currently use for my FT-8800 can export the memories to the 350 using the new G4HFQ software?? If so, that will save a HUGE amount of time re-entering all of my memories. Please tell me if you know it works this way!

    This is what makes me think so, taken from G4HFQ's website...

    The Import/Export facility enables you to exchange memory information between the following radios by using .CSV format memory definition files. You will also need to use the appropriate FTBxxx software for the target radio.

    FT-817, FT-847, FT-857, FT-897 (including ND and D models), FT-1802, FT-1807, FT-1900, FT-2800, FT-2900, FT-7800, FT-7900, FT-8800, FT-8900, FT-60, FT-250, FT-270, VR-5000, VX-3, VX-8, VX-110, VX-150, VX-120, VX-170, VX-177
    VX-2, VX-5, VX-6, VX-7 - using the Commander range of software by Jim Mitchell, KC8UNJ


    Thanks!
    73' KC5NOI
    Matt Skinner
     
    #4
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2010
  5. NY ESU

    NY ESU Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Quick question. The current radio firmware version doesn't allow for traditional "memory banks" in the FTM-350. Many users have cited this as a drawback of the radio.

    I notice the description includes "manage memory banks." I assume this translates to either the left or right side single memory bank of each of the two receivers, not anymore that the software creates. Is that accurate?
     
    #5
  6. KC5NOI

    KC5NOI Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just wanted to post that exporting the .csv file from my FT-8800 and importing it into the FTM-350 worked perfectly! Saved a LOT of time!!!

    73's KC5NOI
     
    #6
  7. Moleculo

    Moleculo Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    8,460
    Likes Received:
    574
    Yes that is correct. It doesn't provide any new functionality to the rig.
     
    #7
  8. NY ESU

    NY ESU Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks.
     
    #8
  9. K4WHE

    K4WHE Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you tell me how to save the current memory setup from my FT-8800 into a .csv file so I can export it to my FTM-350?
     
    #9
  10. KC5NOI

    KC5NOI Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    K4WHE, sorry I haven't been on this forum for a while. If you haven't already figured it out, here are the steps.

    Launch the G4HFQ FT8800 software
    Click on "Import/Export" tab
    Change any settings that are needed in the "Export" area of the menu
    Click on "Export CSV" tab
    Give the file a name (I use the date of save as the name, so I can tell which one is the most recent save).

    Now, Launch the G4HFQ FTM-350 software
    Click on "Import/Export" tab
    Click on "Import CSV/TPE" tab
    Locate the previously saved ".csv" file that you just created
    Choose the file and Open
    You should now see the information loaded in the FTM-350 programming screen.

    From there, change any settings needed for the 350 and save the memory file.

    Then upload it to your FTM350.

    Hope this helps!
    Matt 73's
     
    #10
  11. dxing440

    dxing440 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    10
    Hey moleculo, when i bought my ftm350r, it came with a cable to download the new software. Is this the same cable needed for the programming from G4HFQ program?
     
    #11
  12. depark

    depark W9WDX Amateur Radio Club Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    14
    Does the cable plug into the data port on the radio and usb port on the computer? If so then it will work for updating the software.
     
    #12
    1 person likes this.

Share This Page