1. In celebration of the launch of the new redesigned site, we just gave away a FREE antenna! Click Here to See Who Won!

Palomar 300A 2 pill

Discussion in 'Amplifiers' started by pimphand442, Jul 23, 2011.

  1. pimphand442

    pimphand442 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please help i have a Palomar 300A 2 pill mobile amp and i cant find a schematic on it anywhere i can only find tube style now the reason why i need the schematic is i got 2 new 2sc2879 for it but someone removed the rf chokes and i have new ones but not sure where to soldier the wires these were the only things missing thanks


    #1
  2. AudioShockwav

    AudioShockwav Extraterrestrial Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5,176
    Likes Received:
    866
    Is it a Commander 300-A?
    Or does it say Palomar...Black Face?

    73
    jeff
    #2
  3. pimphand442

    pimphand442 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    palomar

    it says palomar 300a black face
    #3
  4. pimphand442

    pimphand442 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    palomar 300a black face
    #4
  5. AudioShockwav

    AudioShockwav Extraterrestrial Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5,176
    Likes Received:
    866
    chokes?
    Or ten ohm resistor`s?
    if it is the two ten ohm resistors they go from the base of each transistor to ground.

    73
    Jeff
    #5
  6. pimphand442

    pimphand442 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    chokes all resistors are there just input and out put tranformers wat i meant
    #6
  7. AudioShockwav

    AudioShockwav Extraterrestrial Admin Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5,176
    Likes Received:
    866
    I have dug around every where I can think of and can not find a Schematic for that amp.
    There where a lot of small amps made with the Palomar name.
    The closes thing I could find that fit`s the amp you describe is this one:

    Palomar 400 Service Manual
    But that amp uses 4 output transistors.

    73
    Jeff
    #7
  8. mackmobile43

    mackmobile43 Jock Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,715
    Likes Received:
    362
    There would be only need for one choke from the input transformers to ground but need for two 10 ohm resistors from the base of the transistors to ground.

    If it's the choke missing it would go from front side of the transformer(side opposite the transistors) to ground.

    If it's the resistors they go from the base of the transistors just behind the input transformers.

    You can look at most palomars for directions as there is no difference in construction between it and any other unless the amp has biasing or switchable biasing which would require a circuit to switch out the dc grounding of the rf choke to the input transformer and switch in the bias circuit but I don't believe you'res has that.
    #8
  9. pimphand442

    pimphand442 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    the layour of a palomar 350hd is same layout but mine has 3 relays when i key up is when it sends 13.5v through the pills
    #9
  10. mackmobile43

    mackmobile43 Jock Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,715
    Likes Received:
    362
    Must have one helluva relay to power those transformers.

    Usually the voltage to the tranformer is constant and one of the relays controls the RF input to the transistors, one of the other relays is most likely a preamp and the other for activating a bias circuit.
    #10


Share This Page