• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Question before making amp purchase

cjruger

Aug 13, 2012
I found this tube amp on CL. It looks to me home made and well constructed, 3 tubes and 10-60 or 80 meters.
1st if it works on 10 meters will it work on 11?
Second the guy has no tuner to test it with, but said it powers up and had a ham friend go thru it and all looks to be well put together.
3rd what are the toggle switches for? Ssb?
He wants 275$ for it. I plan on getting my ham ticket soon and would like to start getting some gear together.Talk me out of it. Here is the add:

I have for sale a ham radio amplifier which I acquired some years ago from a old "elmer" that liked to build these in his leisure time. I have little to no knowledge about this or any other tube amps. I have given this to several knowledgeable hams for inspection and they all agree that everything appears to be as it should, and the manner of construction is outstanding. It does power up but has not been tested on the air. I haven't got the suitable setup to test it. Their inspections however were all consistent with its ability to function as it should in every respect. They believed it to be rated at 1000w. Please inspect the pictures closely and I'm sure you'll agree with its quality and attention to detail. I am pricing this less than I paid for it because I am no longer involving myself in ham radio for now.
I am asking $275 b/o
Thanks for looking
00j0j_6LkcKtCAJQn_600x450.jpg

00R0R_g3QsLXKA8oA_600x450.jpg

00M0M_ixyo8xuYixY_600x450.jpg

00V0V_1cjROWSAbOG_600x450.jpg

00707_8j4iqsCmVQN_600x450.jpg

I would need to see it work.
813 can be unstable above 14 mhz unless neutralized correctly.

This amp may have a GG design in which case you should be OK.

Looks like a tuned input is also in the amp.