• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

RCI 2950DX

d1g1man

Feb 25, 2008
Hi guys.

I want to order a new RCI 2950DX from Copper.

Can a guy pop the cover, change a jumper and get the extra freqs, or MUST you have them do it by putting in extra parts or something.

Thanks!

Naw, just pop open the cover, move the jumper, and then reset the radio after you turn it back on. Mind you, I don't have a 2950DX; but while hunting for my Magnum OF, I studied a lot of candidates. And the 2950DX is a real nice candidate. There are a few web pages out there that will verify that info, just need to hunt a little bit. Not hard to find, really. The Mag 257 takes the same treatment to get the extra freqs - too. So did my Magnum OF, just put the jumper in the right place and reset.

Unless they have changed their policy, you MUST pay them the money to modify the radio, or they will send you the radio missing the part required to activate 11 meters!

Most dealers, if you choose not to have them convert your radio for you, will send you the radio plus the "E-Key" that is a little plug in module that activates the open transmit. Copper keeps YOUR E-Key unless you pay them to convert.

Not too cool!:thumbdown:

2950DX

Thanks Highlander. I had the Mag 257, a great little rig but just got tired of it. I did not like the the channel/VFO setup. And I miss being able to scan memory channels. I have an old 2950 but it needs fixing, and I can't sell it on the bay, so I said screw it and just ordered a new one.

I have always loved the 2950 radios. Put a channel guard in them and they are awesome.