1. In celebration of the launch of the new redesigned site, we just gave away a FREE antenna! Click Here to See Who Won!

Texas Star 250HDV

Discussion in 'Amplifiers' started by 619 Cheshire Cat, Apr 4, 2009.

  1. 619 Cheshire Cat

    619 Cheshire Cat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have a brand new TS250HDV and when I power the amplifier on, the relay automatically engages, making it impossible to receive anything. I tried 2 different radios, mics, coax and power sources, but with the same problem. Anyone have any suggestions? I'm pulling my hair out!


     
    #1
  2. Robb

    Robb Yup

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Likes Received:
    999
    I'm no tech; but you are going to need a schematic for this one.

    You will need to trace the relay circuit and find voltage entering in along at some point that is keying the relay on. Something is giving it voltage when it isn't supposed to get it - obviously. With a voltmeter and a soldering iron, isolating each part and eliminating one by one will expose the problem - but it will be time-consuming and effective.

    Other than that, someone else that experience with that unit will have to point out where in particular to look for the problem source...
     
    #2
  3. BJ radionut

    BJ radionut Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    945
    Likes Received:
    191
    Was it converted before purchase?

    [SIZE=+2]Texas Star CW Transmitter To RF Amplifier Conversion[/SIZE]


    [SIZE=+3]Model DX250 & DX350[/SIZE]
    1. [SIZE=+1]Remove yellow 2200K cap of the oscillator board from the PCB [/SIZE]
    2. [SIZE=+1]Remove red wire of oscillator board from RF choke[/SIZE]
    3. [SIZE=+1]Remove green wire of oscillator board and attached 33pf cap[/SIZE]
    4. [SIZE=+1]Solder the leg of 15 or 18pf cap to input trace on PCB[/SIZE]
    5. [SIZE=+1]Remove black wire of oscillator board from keying jack[/SIZE]
    6. [SIZE=+1]Remove oscillator board[/SIZE]
    7. [SIZE=+1]Locate jumper wire attached to backside of red switch[/SIZE]
    8. [SIZE=+1]Unsolder the ground end of jumper wire closest to the relay[/SIZE]
    9. [SIZE=+1]Solder this end to bare lead of 10-ohm resistor behind red switch[/SIZE]
    10. [SIZE=+1]Remove 10-ohm resistor piggy-backed to 15K resistor located next to the white sand block resistor and RF choke[/SIZE]
    Was this work done prior to your purchase?
    This may be a stock CW transmitter and not setup yet to work as an amplifier. I found this info on-line so not sure if it 100% correct.
    All the Best
    BJ
     
    #3
  4. 619 Cheshire Cat

    619 Cheshire Cat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    BJ-
    Yep I saw those instructions also. It seems that my amp was successfully converted. It matches up to the instructions here. A few people had mentioned it may have a bad keying transistor, so I'm going to change it tomorrow and see what happens!

     
    #4
  5. linearone

    linearone King of NY

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    4
    sounds like the keying transistor is shorted.
     
    #5
  6. hookedon6

    hookedon6 W9WDX Amateur Radio Club Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,483
    Likes Received:
    234
    if it's "brand new".... why don't ya just get your $$$$$$ back?;)
     
    #6
  7. mackmobile43

    mackmobile43 Jock Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,715
    Likes Received:
    362
    Then it would'nt be (cbing) now would it?

    The relay is seeing a path to ground on the coil so most likely the transistor has gone short and is easily replaced with minor soldering skills.
     
    #7
  8. 619 Cheshire Cat

    619 Cheshire Cat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks to all who advised. I brought it back to where I got it and the shopkeeper hooked it up and said, "You have a bad keying transistor...here's a new one" he tested the new unit for me and all is well. Thanks for the info guys!
     
    #8
  9. hookedon6

    hookedon6 W9WDX Amateur Radio Club Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,483
    Likes Received:
    234
    thats not the point.

    i know i could fix it, and it sounds like you can too, but,....... what about the NEXT person that does buisness with the same seller? they may or may not know a diode from a dohickey.

    if you paid for a working unit, then the seller needs to understand that they need to stand behind it.;)
     
    #9
  10. hookedon6

    hookedon6 W9WDX Amateur Radio Club Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,483
    Likes Received:
    234
    lol we were both posting @ the same time. good deal on the shop standing behind their product(y)
     
    #10
  11. 619 Cheshire Cat

    619 Cheshire Cat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah man, that is harder and harder to come by these days. I normally do my business with Sparky's CB shack through the mail, but I found this place on my route in the Bronx, and it came recommended from a lot of the locals, so I've bought a bunch of small stuff from him. A cable here, a mic there. Friday was my first decent purchase and I have to say I will do business with him again, he stood behind his gear. A lot of places will tell you to call the 800 number for whatever company the product is from and I think that is just shoddy customer service. If you guys are ever in the Bronx, Delta Electronics on East Tremont is a good place to stop...
     
    #11
  12. rfoverlord

    rfoverlord guardian of freedom

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    Messages:
    753
    Likes Received:
    2
    glad it was replaced, now pump 18 volts into it and dead key it with 40 watts and you'll be blowin smoke... just kiddin don't do that!
     
    #12
  13. 619 Cheshire Cat

    619 Cheshire Cat Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    1
    LOL! I may be a CB'er, but I'm not an idiot! I don't understand the "volting" phenomenon. I have a 5 pill dave made in my car, and if I want a bigger box, I'll go buy one, not run 20 volts through and beat up the components. I do appreciate your humor rfoverlord!
     
    #13
  14. kor b

    kor b Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    7

    You can put 18 volts to that dave made. But the texas star won't last long at 18 volts.
     
    #14
  15. Cajun Invader

    Cajun Invader Membership Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's not a phenomenon, it's physics. You have much to learn about your DaveMade.

    Why buy a muscle car and run bald tires?
     
    #15

Share This Page