1. In celebration of the launch of the new redesigned site, we just gave away a FREE antenna! Click Here to See Who Won!

Varmint linear

Discussion in 'General CB Services Discussion' started by 555, Jun 26, 2006.

  1. 555

    555 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    15
    Varmint XL-600
    just thought i would hook up the old varmint and was hooking up the coax connecters
    and came across a little knob that says input
    so i got to thinking so i checked my swr on my radio the swr were little high
    but the swr from amp going to antenna were 1.1 to 1.2

    any input on what this little input knob will do before i go twisting on it

    I havent been into the base amp setups to much and lost sight of a few things
    but since i have my mobile where i want it

    i would hook up my varmint 600 driver and see what i could get going



    yes i said varmint 600 driver its for my 5tuber
    but just curious as to what the input knob was for
    #1
  2. nomadradio

    nomadradio Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi 555,
    That adjustment is to minimize the SWR between the radio and the amplifier, NOT on the antenna side.

    When the amplifier is keyed, the radio isn't feeding the antenna any more, it's feeding the two driver tubes. The input adjustment is to fool the radio into thinking it's driving a 50-ohm antenna with a low SWR, when the Varmint is keyed.

    Requires you put a SWR meter between the radio and the amplifier. Keeping the jumpers short, like 3 feet or less tends to help. The internal SWR meter on a base radio may be accurate, or it may not.

    With the amplifier keyed and tuned up for max modulated power, the input match is adjusted for minimum reflected power on the radio-side meter. You'll probably notice that turning it ALSO affects the max modulated power coming out of the Varmint when you turn that knob, as well.

    In a perfect world, the spot where it shows minimum input-side SWR is is the same knob setting that shows max wattage coming out of the Varmint. In the real world, max drive may be at one spot on the knob, and least SWR may be at another spot. This calls for setting that knob for a "compromise" between the two knob settings. Generally, you should be able to get the input-side SWR under 1.5 without sacrificing more than 5% or 10% of the power coming out. If the amplifier's input SWR is much over 2 to 1, the radio's final transistor may get worked too hard.

    You'll also fid that the Varmint's input SWR will change when switching from "Supermod" to "High". The tubes in the Varmint tend to run cooler on the Supermod side.

    73
    #2
  3. 555

    555 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    15
    hey thanks
    i keyed it down tune for max audio and on low it deadkeys
    50 to 75 watts and modulates to 275 to 300 watts
    on high supermod it deadkeys 150 to 200 and mods to 900 watts
    the swr showed around 2.5 to 3
    adjusted the input and got it down to 1.8 to 2 swr showing on radio
    went out to the shop and looked around found me a 6 foot jumper put it inline and wham its shows the same as on swr going to antenna

    thanks for your help
    #3
  4. 555

    555 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    15
    well the problem still exists
    i forgot to recalibrate the swr on the radio it showed lower swr but after i recalibrated it was still there and i can turn he input left and right but no change so what do i do next
    #4
  5. FL Native

    FL Native Registered User

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,363
    Likes Received:
    1
    look inside maybe that is disabled or just not workin anymore ???
    #5
  6. Lazybones1222

    Lazybones1222 W9WDX Amateur Radio Club Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    7
    I had the same problem with input SWR on my Varmint. There is a small trimmer inside for the input adjustment, but it was worn out.

    So, I put a Maco 300 antenna tuner between the radio and the Varmnint and tuned the SWR on the radio flat. (in my case a RCI 2950 DX with the digital self adjusting SWR meter).

    Well, it worked. That old Varmint talks all over the nation conditions permitting.
    #6
  7. nomadradio

    nomadradio Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    3
    If the minimum SWR is reached with the screw all the way loose (clockwise), you may have the version that was sold wired wrong. Not too many folks checked input SWR in 1978, and a lot of them went out the door with this input circuit just wired wrong. Only fix is to add a small coil, around a half microhenry, in place of a wire jumper.

    Don't have any pictures, or diagrams about how to fix that problem. Been doing it from memory for 25-plus years. Pretty sure most published diagrams won't match the way your input-match control is wired.

    73
    #7
  8. NorthStar

    NorthStar Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,338
    Likes Received:
    22
    Brewer Labs Real American Made Amplifiers. Nothing made like them today.
    #8
  9. Toll_Free

    Toll_Free Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm a fan of them to a point as well.... but. That can also read:
    Brewer Labs Real American Made Amplifiers. Nothing BLEEDS like them today



    --Toll_Free
    #9
  10. NorthStar

    NorthStar Administrator

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,338
    Likes Received:
    22
    Thats true.
    #10
  11. RunnDog

    RunnDog Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    How about a VarmintXL1000

    what would you all think the Max Input on that Amp, DK an Fd Mod
    #11
  12. 555

    555 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    15
    for that varmint 1000
    a 1 to 1 1/2 watt deadkey with a 12 to 15 wattswing will give it all she needs any more and you be killing the tubes
    #12
  13. RunnDog

    RunnDog Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    guess i cant use it, then

    my 2995 on low is 10 dk, an my Cobra is 4 watt dk,
    thanks, for the info.
    #13


Share This Page