1. In celebration of the launch of the new redesigned site, we just gave away a FREE antenna! Click Here to See Who Won!

What if you have limited space BUT still want to BUILD a 160-10 antenna?

Discussion in 'Amateur Radio Antennas' started by mr_fx, Feb 27, 2012.

  1. mr_fx

    mr_fx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,467
    Likes Received:
    160
    What if you have limited space BUT still want to BUILD a 160-10 antenna?

    I have a Yaesu FT-890 with a good internal tuner (can handle 3:1), I know this will help

    I guess I would need to do some kind of folded design.



    Maybe I could use the top rail on my fence as a 160-80 antenna?
    #1
  2. Moleculo

    Moleculo Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    8,289
    Likes Received:
    518
    Gives us some more information on your space limitations. Coming up with a limited space HF antenna for 20-6 meters is pretty easy; it gets more challenging for 40 and 80. 160m is REALLY challenging!
    #2
  3. Lefty

    Lefty W9WDX Amateur Radio Club Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    20
    True that! ;)
    A good way but costly is with a Butternut HF9-V. I have one except for the 160M coil. Cover 6M thru 160M, albeit 160M is only about 25Khz wide.
    #3
  4. Robb

    Robb Yup

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    7,969
    Likes Received:
    940
    Some thoughts . . .
    I suppose that you could run a remote antenna tuner at the antenna feedpoint. Vertical or loop antenna. Isn't cheap nor efficient. Never done it but I've read about others doing it that way. Efficiency is the real loss . . .
    #4
  5. mr_fx

    mr_fx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,467
    Likes Received:
    160
    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2012
    #5
  6. mr_fx

    mr_fx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,467
    Likes Received:
    160
    I would like to avoid using the tress in the front of the house. I also have a 35' telescoping mast that can be mounted anywhere on the fence line

    I would like to hit Europe.
    #6
  7. Captain Kilowatt

    Captain Kilowatt Professional Amateur Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    11,082
    Likes Received:
    2,702
    Use the tree on the SW side of the garage to install a doublet fed with 450 ohm ladder line. Run it to a half decent tuner with a 1:1 balun and you are good. Get the middle of it as high as you can and install as an inverted VEE. It is exactly what I have right now and I worked New Zealand late this afternoon with 100 watts. The apex is at 35 feet.
    #7
  8. HomerBB

    HomerBB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,485
    Likes Received:
    397
    Maybe some of these on a dipole?

    [​IMG]
    #8
  9. wavrider

    wavrider W9WDX Amateur Radio Club Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,070
    Likes Received:
    306
    The down side of using traps is decreased bandwidth and then power handling capabilities.

    OP has all ready been informed of the inverted V antenna or all band doublet.:bdh:

    Build one and start making contacts if you have the license.
    #9
  10. Moleculo

    Moleculo Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    8,289
    Likes Received:
    518
    Can't quite tell how deep that back lot is, but if you can't fit a full sized doublet for 80/160, the traps will be the ticket, or make loading coils. A ground mounted vertical will do the trick also, but that's getting more expensive.
    #10
  11. W1MSG

    W1MSG Now W1MSG

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    18
    Looks like more than enough room for a rectangle loop antenna, if you can get all 4 corners up about 30 feet or so it should do the job pretty well.
    #11
  12. mr_fx

    mr_fx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,467
    Likes Received:
    160
    around 205' deep to the trees in front of the house, from the back fence line
    #12
  13. HomerBB

    HomerBB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,485
    Likes Received:
    397
    Yep, bandwidth is significantly narrower with the traps, but it did reduce the area needed to put up a long dipole.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
    #13
  14. wavrider

    wavrider W9WDX Amateur Radio Club Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,070
    Likes Received:
    306
    Traps do reduce length of antenna I think Unadilla sells traps for any band.

    Friend of mine built one and said it works but with very narrow band width.
    #14
  15. WA2SI

    WA2SI Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    1
    Google up "Hy-Power Antennas" and look for their 82' 160 dipole. Order it for ladder-line feed and use a good quality ladder-line. (Davis RF) Have fun... ;-)

    Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk
    #15


Share This Page