1. In celebration of the launch of the new redesigned site, we just gave away a FREE antenna! Click Here to See Who Won!

Yaesu VX-8r mod - first on the internet!

Discussion in 'Yaesu' started by Moleculo, Jan 4, 2009.

  1. Moleculo

    Moleculo Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    8,356
    Likes Received:
    536
    This mod enables out of band TX on the Yaesu VX-8r.

    Here's how to do it:

    -Take out the battery.
    -Under the battery is a heavy, thick plastic cover with very strong adhesive. Remove it using an XActo knife or a very small screwdriver that you can slip under it. This is the same cover you need to lift to install the Bluetooth option.
    -After you get the cover open, it will look like this:

    [​IMG]

    To mod the radio for out of band TX, locate the only resistor visible on the board, just to the left of the bluetooth plug:



    [​IMG]

    All you have to do is carefully remove this resistor. I have a fine tip for my solder station for little work like this:

    [​IMG]

    Make sure you clean off ALL the residual adhesive. Don't try to put back the cover that you took off, as it will be badly deformed and you will have lost some of the adhesive. Yaesu gives you several extra covers in the bottom of the box, so use a new one. This is important to preserve the waterproof integrity of the radio!

    After you put the battery back in, the radio will have reset and you will lose all of your settings. I'm not sure what the complete range of TX is yet, but this mod definately opened it to TX out of the Amateur bands.

    FIRST! (y)(y)
     
    #1
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2014
  2. Happy_Hamer

    Happy_Hamer Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2001
    Messages:
    5,043
    Likes Received:
    126
    in PDF
     

    Attached Files:

    #2
  3. kf4lza

    kf4lza Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    uh oh...

    Darn, this mod is only a Mars/Cap mod not a freeband mod like on the VX-7R. I was hoping to open up TX into 47 MHz. It's a no go I am afraid. Hopefully there is a resistor to pluck for a freeband mod of some sort hopefully we can find it.

    73's
     
    #3
  4. KG6NSB

    KG6NSB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for that info, LZA, before I voided my warranty!
     
    #4
  5. fbwebdes

    fbwebdes Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone know what bands are opened up once this mod is completed?
     
    #5
  6. nicoderm

    nicoderm Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    i tested frs,155/465 tx. works fine

    thanks mole for the info
     
    #6
  7. k8cix

    k8cix Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Question: vx-8r mod. reset

    The mod for the vx-8r for mars/cap says "after the battery is replaced the radio will reset and you will lose all your settings"

    Question 1: Does the radio reset automatically or do you have to do a reset and which one?

    Question 2: What settings are lost. Are the default settings intact or do you have to input ALL settings?

    Roger, K8CIX
     
    #7
  8. W5LZ

    W5LZ Crotchety Old Bastard

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    6,834
    Likes Received:
    725
    Q-1. It sounds like it ought to do the reset automatically. If not, do it manually.

    Q-2. It sounds like anything you programmed into it will be gone. Writing the settings down before doing the mod sounds like a real good idea! Then reprogram it.
    - 'Doc
     
    #8
  9. nicoderm

    nicoderm Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    it will reset it self and yes you do lose all your data.

     
    #9
  10. Moleculo

    Moleculo Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    8,356
    Likes Received:
    536
    Yep, that's what it did to mine.
     
    #10
  11. alaskann7phb

    alaskann7phb Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Question VX-8R capability

    Next question, does this radio transmit AM on aircraft band (122.900) as does the VX-7R?
     
    #11
  12. k8cix

    k8cix Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    vx8r mars/cap mod.

    Thanks for the info so far on the reset and loss of memory. I guess my main concern is that ALL default (factory) menu items are lost. I don't mind losing the freq.'s I have programed I just don't relish the idea of having to go to 100+ menu items for reprograming. Is this what you have to do?

    Roger, K8CIX
     
    #12
  13. Moleculo

    Moleculo Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    8,356
    Likes Received:
    536
    No, it doesn't


    On mine, the radio just got set back to the default, as it was when I first took it out of the box. All of the pre-programmed VHF Marine, SWL, and other special memories were preserved.
     
    #13
  14. plato

    plato Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    VX-8R tx.range after the mod.

    Does any one know the tx. range after the mod? I am interested in the 503-512 Mhz. range. Thanks. Plato:
     
    #14
  15. Moleculo

    Moleculo Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    8,356
    Likes Received:
    536
    TX range after the mod is:
    50-54
    140-174
    222-225
    420-470
     
    #15

Share This Page