1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
This forum does not allow a single user to have more than one username. If anyone wants to change their username contact an admin and it will be done. Multiple accounts belonging to the same member will be deleted without warning.

Anybody use switching power supplies?

Discussion in 'General CB Services Discussion' started by guitar_199, Sep 11, 2020.

  1. sp5it

    sp5it Master of puppets

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,887
    Likes Received:
    2,083
    You are right. Talking about DPS600PB I mentioned before. For 20$ I get PS with over current, over voltage, temperature protection. Designed to run 24/7 full duty cycle in expensive equipment.
    Small and lightweight.
    No more linear PS for me.
    Mike


     

  2. WECSOG

    WECSOG Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2020
    Messages:
    683
    Likes Received:
    1,223
    I've had an MFJ-4225MV for over 20 years, and it still works fine. I've also converted a couple of computer power supplies. They do create a bit of hash, but they're ok for non-radio applications. And, I have an ICT Comm Series switcher that's great.
    But for the most part I prefer linear power supplies. My latest is a 50 amp rack mount, battery backup Astron that was surplussed from Oregon State Police.
     
    BJ radionut and Slowmover like this.
  3. guitar_199

    guitar_199 Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    643
    Mine came in today. I haven't done the 13.8 V mod yet... it runs at 12.25. I'm leaving it for the moment as the radio (2m/70cm dual band) specs at 13.8VDC + or - 15%. Minus 15% is 11.73.

    I would say it sounds great. I got on an unused frequency in simplex and it sounds clean and clear. Don't hear anything except background noise. MUCH better than when I was using the 3A Radio Shack supply.

    I'm sure I might get a little more output if I ran at 13.8 and I may indeed get there soon. But for now, I'm impressed. And $21.42 all in.
     
    binrat and Justme like this.
  4. Tucker442

    Tucker442 101E

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    954
    Likes Received:
    143
    I use mega work also would not even consider going back to a brick power supply. The best part is you can piggyback them so if you have a 35 and then a few months later you get another 35 you can put them together for 70. Megawatt has been my choice not that the others have an issue I just like Megawatt
     
    Greg T and Tallman like this.
  5. Dr_DX

    Dr_DX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    189
  6. WECSOG

    WECSOG Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2020
    Messages:
    683
    Likes Received:
    1,223
  7. Shadetree Mechanic

    Shadetree Mechanic 808 On The North Side of Dover

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2017
    Messages:
    4,369
    Likes Received:
    6,666
  8. tba02

    tba02 WOOF

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    397
    Shadetree Mechanic likes this.
  9. Dr_DX

    Dr_DX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    189
    I haven't yet I have 3 on order - 2 common slot silver @$15 and 1 common slot 1200 platinum plus @$20 = $50 free shipping no tax for 3 100A power supplies.
     
    Shadetree Mechanic and WECSOG like this.
  10. dave457

    dave457 Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    1,421
    Using a breakout board with your power supply makes things alot easyer... Something like this and they are pretty cheap
    81TnqnwUYhL.jpg
     
    Shadetree Mechanic, Tokin and WECSOG like this.
  11. dave457

    dave457 Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    1,421
    bkr4x-768x612.jpg Just plug and play
     
    #26 dave457, Sep 20, 2020
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2020
    Shadetree Mechanic and WECSOG like this.
  12. Dr_DX

    Dr_DX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    189
    Mod for HSTNS-PL11 / generic part No.: 438203-001 / Spare part No.: 498152-001

    ON/OFF = switch with 470~1Kohm resistor in series between 33 and 36 on back (both on top; pads 1 to 4 on left side)
    Voltage adjust = remove top cover, adj. 2nd pot from back end closest to +12v output on right side as looking from the back (this particular PSU will go up to about 12.7)
    OVP adjust =
    Apparently the power supply is using a microcontroller to monitor the +12V voltage level via its ADC input to provide the OVP function. In the attached photo, the +12V is divided down to below 3.3V and fed into the uP2 pin15. Thus reducing R901 would do the trick. You can do this by parallelling another high value resistor across R901 via trial and error.

    A better method is to measure the pin15 voltage along with the actual +12V output voltage and work out the divider ratio. Then it is a simple matter to increase the OVP to say 14.5V or 15V by changing the divisor ratio.
    HP_SMPS_OVP_Mod1.png

    A better solution is get a HP DPS-1200FB; DPS-1200FB A; DPS-1200FB 1A; HP 570451-101.

    Then get one of these: https://www.parallelminer.com/produ...pter-compatible-with-hp-1200-watt-dps-1200fb/

    Then watch this video for the Voltage adj. and OVP adj. mods:

    As shown = 13.8v and OVP @14.2v
    If you use a 82K resistor instead of the 110K OVP will be 14.45v. i.e. the smaller the resistor, the higher the OVP.
     
    WECSOG and Shadetree Mechanic like this.
  13. Dr_DX

    Dr_DX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    189
    ****************Updated 13.8V 100A PS recommendation***************

    Get a HSTNS-PD11; 438202-002; 440785-001; 441830-001; DPS-1200FB A

    If you want a turnkey solution with on/off switch and voltage meter, then get one of these: https://www.parallelminer.com/produ...pter-compatible-with-hp-1200-watt-dps-1200fb/

    If you want to manually control it, put a 22K resistor between 36 & 37 and an on/off switch between 33 & 30 (jumper the two if you are going to control the AC power). If you want to add an amp meter use pin 34 - 60.15mv/amp.

    Then watch this video for the Voltage adj. and OVP adj. mods:


    For voltage adjust, turn pot CCW to increase voltage. If you need a higher OVP than 14.2v, use a lower value resistor. For example, a 82K resistor = OVP @ 14.45v.
     
    #28 Dr_DX, Sep 26, 2020
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2020
    Tokin and sp5it like this.
  14. Big Kahuna

    Big Kahuna Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    1,860
    Using the Megawatt for close to 8 years now, I turn the power on/off every couple of days generally. So I'd guess it's powered one/off close to 1,000 times or more by now. Never had an issue.
     
    Cam Tetzlaff, Slowmover and Tokin like this.
  15. Tokin

    Tokin The Man With No Shoes

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2019
    Messages:
    1,565
    Likes Received:
    2,742
    Id like to run 6 of these 100a hp's in parallel.
     
    TIN_CAN and Shadetree Mechanic like this.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The WorldwideDX Radio Forum was originally established in 2001. We pride ourselves on welcoming Radio Hobby enthusiasts of all types, while offering unbiased, informative, and friendly discussion among the members. We are working every day to make sure our community is the best Radio Hobbyist's site.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Premium VIP Member

    The management works very hard to make sure the community is running the best software, best designs, and all the other bells and whistles. Care to buy us a beer? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!