• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

best 11meter vertical ever, period.

crusader

Jun 19, 2005
southwest england
forget a-99 I-10K i-max2000 and all that.the only antenna i have ever owned that out performed every other vertical was the avanti sigma 4, a massive 3/4 wave monster with gamma match and low low swr between 25.5MHz - 28.0MHz rated at 2KW input i preferred using this one over the 3 element yagi. a copy is still sold in the uk under the name sirio vector 4000 but how good a copy i dont know. the sigma used with 70 watts cut through the pile ups on 11meters back in the early to late eighties when ssb was crammed. would love to hear from others who remember this great antenna!!

i still have the original avanti and several sirio vector 4000's, i have been using them for over 20 years, on performance the vector beats the avanti when they are set up correctly ( houres of moving tapping point and retuning for best signal at distance ) but they are way too flimsy to use even in moderate 60mph winds they will break, the avanti was made from infinately better material which with a doubleskinned bottom section withstood 110mph winds that snapped my guys and brought the whole lot down back in the mid eighties, so i hybridised the two to make a 4 legged unit using the avanti vertical extended to 32 feet which lasted a good few years up to the last 90+mph winds when the basket collapsed, another fantastic antenna i had was the ham international big mack, http://pageperso.aol.fr/daviken/Antennes/Antennes.htm, it outperformed my avanti and would at least equal the hybrid but it too was not really strong enough for our weather, so we cannot forget the i10k, its probably the best performing rugged antenna you can buy today and unlike the avanti and sirio theres no need to spend houres playing