1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
This forum does not allow a single user to have more than one username. If anyone wants to change their username contact an admin and it will be done. Multiple accounts belonging to the same member will be deleted without warning.

Clamp amp tricks - Looking for more

Discussion in 'General CB Services Discussion' started by yachtwork, Feb 5, 2010.

  1. yachtwork

    yachtwork Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I few years back I published a series of useful clamp amp tricks here-

    Clamp amp use

    It was mainly for boats, but many of the tricks work in other applications also.



    Now I'm trying to update the list and am looking for help with other tricks people have used the amp clamp for.

    If you have any other tricks please email me at yachtowrk (at) gmail.com and I'll add them to the list.

    Thanks

    Scott
     

  2. Wire Weasel

    Wire Weasel Senior Moment

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,792
    Likes Received:
    387
    Hi YW,

    Thanks for the interesting article for sure. Fluke 31 user here. Don't really have any extra tricks here for ya. About all I can add is that if one is expecting or needing to measure very small currents, one can wrap the wire-to-be-current-measured, if possible, around one of the jaws 10 times. This will increase the reading by 10. So a hundredth of an amp flow will read as a tenth of an amp on meter ect.....

    Thanks [​IMG]
     
  3. W5LZ

    W5LZ Crotchety Old Bastard

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    6,832
    Likes Received:
    813
    It will certainly depend on the 'clamp-amp' meter being used, but you might try 'clamping' your feed line in the AC mode to see if you get some kind of usable reading. That AC in the feed line is definitely NOT in the 60 Hz range, so a 'dirty look' from that meter may be normal, sort of. No reason it would harm the meter, so why not try it and see?
    - 'Doc
     
  4. yachtwork

    yachtwork Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks

    Awesome trick! I just added it to the list.

    Thanks!

    Scott
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The WorldwideDX Radio Forum was originally established in 2001. We pride ourselves on welcoming Radio Hobby enthusiasts of all types, while offering unbiased, informative, and friendly discussion among the members. We are working every day to make sure our community is the best Radio Hobbyist's site.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Premium VIP Member

    The management works very hard to make sure the community is running the best software, best designs, and all the other bells and whistles. Care to buy us a beer? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!