1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.
    Dismiss Notice

Digimax lite????

Discussion in 'General CB Services Discussion' started by BammBamm, Nov 8, 2010.

  1. BammBamm

    BammBamm Instigators ...173 on the southside.

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    182
    I found this "device" online for a channel mod to add channels to a c.b. radio.:blink: It displays all channels with no skips and all a channels. has anyone ever heard of or used this product?:confused: Thinking of building a cobra 148 gtl as a Christmas gift for a friend and this would be a nice mod if it works. ANY info would be helpful.:unsure:


     

  2. BammBamm

    BammBamm Instigators ...173 on the southside.

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    182
    Out of all the people that have looked at this not one person has ever heard of it?:confused:
     
  3. Doc Feelgood

    Doc Feelgood Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is a PIC Micro used to control the PLL, more expensive then the USA Made The MOD about $100 shipped compared to the same capabilities from The Mod for about $65.

    I've not used, or installed the Digi, but have used The Mod, which accomplishes the exact same thing for less money (plus its been around much longer), with live chat help available, and an active Yahoo Group dedicated to it. Money also stays in the USA.

    You'll have to join the group to check it out but I think it is worth a look.....

    the_mod : Cobra 2000GTL , 148GTL modifications

    Not associated with the mod other then having put it in 6 of my radios...
     
  4. BammBamm

    BammBamm Instigators ...173 on the southside.

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    182
    Thanks I didn't know there was another option other than viagra board or switches. I will be checking this out.
     
  5. Allan Esterhuizen

    Allan Esterhuizen New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have built and used several Digimax Lite units , they make it possible to continuously though the channels , Scans , split channel operation , ones installed no extra hole for switches to ruin the look of a good looking radio , has a 3 digit display and will also cover the 5 "Missing" channels as well , and they have just released an upgraded firmware that enables 5kc steps as well , they work great and the radio looks stock ( when on std cb channels )
     
    Shadetree Mechanic likes this.
  6. nomadradio

    nomadradio Analog Retentive

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,671
    Likes Received:
    2,414
    The Digimax does what it says.

    Biggest single PITA is when you break the channel digits apart from the encoder. They're made on a single circuit board, but the digits won't line up with the radio's window when the control is bolted down in many radios.

    Breaking them apart now requires wiring them back to each other so the digits may be hot-glued behind the window.

    Every one we have installed worked as advertised. Just be prepared for some heavy-duty wiring.

    73
     
    NZ8N and Allan Esterhuizen like this.
  7. red97k1500

    red97k1500 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    44
    I have one, but I haven’t been able to get it to work 100%, but don’t get me wrong it does work
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Allan Esterhuizen

    Allan Esterhuizen New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have so far used them in a Uniden Grant , a Cobra 139XLR a Cobra 138XLR-A and a courier Gladiator with good results ( Gladiator has no original front so will be creating one to suit my own tastes ) the display board is able to be split from the encoder boards ( did that for the 139XLR and the Grant ) and the 138XLR went in just perfect , it is a pain though but I like a challenge :D
     
  9. kaos513

    kaos513 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,910
    Likes Received:
    471
    Great radio dude!
     
  10. loosecannon

    loosecannon Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,487
    Likes Received:
    2,050
    i have one of these installed in one of my madisons, and i like it.

    i do wish he would make it more modular, like providing options that can be used with tactile switches. a channel jump option would be nice.
    it would also be great if you could set your own band edges.
    i don't need mine to go all the way up to 28.755 but you are limited to the VCO scan function to set the band edges.

    the encoders he uses are very cheap and won't last. also the shaft length is wrong for some radios like my madison.
    i had to go with another encoder, and the way he sets his error band for this control is too tight so it can get a bit glitchy when turning the channels up too fast.

    all in all though, i do like having it in the radio.
    LC
     
  11. Allan Esterhuizen

    Allan Esterhuizen New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2
    He does have a website where you can buy direct and ask questions , look for "Circuit Domain"
     
    Shadetree Mechanic likes this.
  12. loosecannon

    loosecannon Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,487
    Likes Received:
    2,050
    yep i've talked about this to him and Ray, but he wasn't really interested in making any changes.
    LC
     
  13. nomadradio

    nomadradio Analog Retentive

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,671
    Likes Received:
    2,414
    Just noticed he now offers the channel digits/encoder board already separated. Gotta be worth whatever he upcharges for that.

    73
     
  14. kopcicle

    kopcicle Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    1,393
    Shadetree Mechanic likes this.
  15. Allan Esterhuizen

    Allan Esterhuizen New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2
    You could always just build yourself a custom display pcb etc , easy enough and then you would have it the way you wanted
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The WorldwideDX Radio Forum was originally established in 2001. We pride ourselves on welcoming Radio Hobby enthusiasts of all types, while offering unbiased, informative, and friendly discussion among the members. We are working every day to make sure our community is the best Radio Hobbyist's site.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Premium VIP Member

    The management works very hard to make sure the community is running the best software, best designs, and all the other bells and whistles. Care to buy us a beer? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!