1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.
    Dismiss Notice

Help to Identify

Discussion in 'Amplifiers' started by EarleH, Mar 23, 2008.

  1. EarleH

    EarleH Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    How can I post a photo so someone might identify this amp. It has no identification. Far left, 3 switches. power, stby/amp, am/ssb; CC 150; a meter that runs up to 20 then turns red to 100; two dials, PLATE and LOAD.
    Measures W-10", D - 6", H - 8". Gray perforated cover, with chrome handles on either side. 2 17KV6A Tubes. Has an SWR adjustment at the rear. Any help will be greatly appreciated.


     

  2. bigred222

    bigred222 Key Up City Radio

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,145
    Likes Received:
    25
    do you plug it in to the wall or is it a DC powered Mobile amp?
     
  3. Justme

    Justme Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    31
    If it has tubes and plate and load, it will be an plug in the wall amp, no mobile one or on car battery power.

    The tubes are Medium Mu Triode beam power tubes.
    More or less replacement is 6KV6A
    Current 0.600 Amp
    Voltage 16.8volt
    Warm up time appr. 11 seconds.
    Novar type

    Data taken from RCA leaflet.
     
  4. EarleH

    EarleH Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is a base Amp. Someone told me it was like an old Black Cat.
     
  5. why was my post deleted ? all i did was tell the man what his options were to get a pic posted on this forum . it was directly answering his question and not off topic . please tell me what i did wrong so i wont do it again . thanks
     
  6. bigred222

    bigred222 Key Up City Radio

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,145
    Likes Received:
    25
    I dont know if black cat ever made any tube amps. I could be very wrong however. but i dont think they did. they just made those Amplifier/power supply boxes that are similar to the cobra and palomar base amp/powersupply
     
  7. bigred222

    bigred222 Key Up City Radio

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,145
    Likes Received:
    25
    If you want to post a photo you have to sign up for a service such as www.photobucket.com. and copy and paste the BBCODE link into your post.
     
  8. i thought one of the new rules of the forum was having to be a premium/paying member to post pics . my bad apparently . i apologize .
     
  9. AudioShockwav

    AudioShockwav Extraterrestrial Admin
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5,753
    Likes Received:
    1,732
    1:
    Booty, not sure why your post got deleted?
    2:
    You can host the picture on photobucket and allways post a link to it here on the forum.
    3:
    Booty, not sure why your post got deleated?
    4:
    Yes, black Cat made a few Amps, in fact they made a few big amps, and some little ones.
    It almost sounds like a Cadet 150, the one I had used 2 x 6kv6 tubes in it.
    You said it has a perforated cover, is it holes "punched" in the cover, or is it a cut out type design?
    I will try to dig up a picture of one when I get home.
    Start a photo bucket account
    www.photobucket.com
    upload the pictures there and then post a link to them here.
    If you have trouble, send me a PM, and I will see if I can help you out.

    73
    Jeff
     
  10. EarleH

    EarleH Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
  11. AudioShockwav

    AudioShockwav Extraterrestrial Admin
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5,753
    Likes Received:
    1,732
    Works just fine, and it is not the amp I was thinking of.
    Nice looking little amp though.
    You got a shot of the insides?

    73
    Jeff
     
  12. EarleH

    EarleH Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, but it has one large transformer and one about half the size plus two 17KV6A tubes. Question, would it be prefered to switch the tubes to the 6KV6A?
     
  13. AudioShockwav

    AudioShockwav Extraterrestrial Admin
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5,753
    Likes Received:
    1,732
    NO.
    The first number is the voltage that the heaters of the tube run on, so a 17KV6A uses 17 volts to run the heaters, and a 6KV6A uses 6 Volts, switching the tubes would just burn up the filaments of the tube.
    And the basic tube is the same, less the heater voltage, so no gain in power.
    If it is working good as is I would leave it alone.

    73
    Jeff
     
  14. EarleH

    EarleH Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got this because running a separate power supply with all the other stuff, transmitter, scanner, computer, etc, is a mess, however, being almost 80, I am a loss to run some of this stuff. That being said. I read on how to tune a tube amp, but am still confused. I dead keyed this amp a 4 watts, and set the meter till just to the begining of the red. This though only gives me about 40 watts. Is this about right? Earle
     
  15. Doc813

    Doc813 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Earl tunning an amp can be confusing at times and the metering is not the same on all amps.With that being said just a good ole watt metter can be used with no meter at all on the amp...You can tune an amp i have found a couple of ways one way is to tune for the highest dead key(no modulation)or tune for most forward swing on the watt meter i like the later..but as long as you are in ball park with in 10 watts or so of maximum you shoul be fine.It is just tial and error back an forth from the tune and load till you see the max on your watt meter and short keys till you get close....I problaby didn't help much as their seem to be lots of guru's on here...Take care have fun...Hope i can still key the mike at 80 thats great...
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The WorldwideDX Radio Forum was originally established in 2001. We pride ourselves on welcoming Radio Hobby enthusiasts of all types, while offering unbiased, informative, and friendly discussion among the members. We are working every day to make sure our community is the best Radio Hobbyist's site.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Premium VIP Member

    The management works very hard to make sure the community is running the best software, best designs, and all the other bells and whistles. Care to buy us a beer? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!