• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Homebrew 2 meter Yagi

KD0GOJ

Jan 25, 2009
Has any one built there own homebrew 2 meter yagi?
I was giving yesterday a 14 ft tv antenna.
I want to dismantle it and use the radials for a homebrew 2 meter
any suggestion or help is welcomed.
Never built my own, total newbie at this
going to start taking apart the antenna

Thanks Scott KD0GOJ

I have one built by a fellow ham (5 element, folded dipole, 300 twin lead, PVC boom) that he gave to me, I have it in the attic for a weather proof antenna. It works better than my J pole at 50' in 5 acres of woods with 80' trees getting to the repeater 14 miles away.

The old tv antenna..
Is not too far off for frequency's of 2 meters..

With a little research...
you can find length of boom.....
spacing of elements..
length of elements..

put it all together...and bam...2 meter antenna..

for myself..
old TV antennas are not long enough a boom to bother using.
Remember Gain is derived mostly from the length of the boom
(slightly perhaps in the elements...by far mostly the boom length)

However..
It makes a good exercise / experiment to make a 2 meter antenna from a old tv antenna