1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
This forum does not allow a single user to have more than one username. If anyone wants to change their username contact an admin and it will be done. Multiple accounts belonging to the same member will be deleted without warning.

RT Systems programming help

Discussion in 'General Ham Radio Discussion' started by Se7en, Jan 27, 2013.

  1. Se7en

    Se7en Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4,576
    Likes Received:
    214
    Is there a way to use the rt systems USB cable with other software like: Chrip ?
    I got the drivers for the cable but in window xp there is no com port for the cable to set...which is odd.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated :)


     

  2. Qwazyone

    Qwazyone Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    6
    What radio is the cable for? I can go into device manager on win 7 and see the com ports that my rt systems cables for each of my yaesu radios
     
  3. Se7en

    Se7en Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4,576
    Likes Received:
    214
    Vx-8r
    I use windows vista & XP.
    When the cable is plugged in it is NOT assigned a com port # which is ODD.
     
  4. W5LZ

    W5LZ Crotchety Old Bastard

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    6,832
    Likes Received:
    815
    The RT Systems program that I have finds the correct port by it's self, I suspect yours does too. If the program says it can't find it, then it's the wrong driver or cable. That means there's an incompatibility in the OS or machine set up. Which typically means a driver. Get to the 'Device Manager' and see what's going on there. That's done through the 'Start' button or try the 'Ctrl'+'shift'+'ESC' short cut (supposed to work on all Windows OS).

    As for using that same cable with 'Chirp', I have to suspect that you can't. Depends on if the cable is the old version or the new version, there is definitely a difference in drivers. (And why there's a 'new' version, deals with the 'chip' used in the cable's construction and 'driver+OS compatibility.)
    - 'Doc
     
  5. Se7en

    Se7en Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4,576
    Likes Received:
    214
    No adms software just the cable. I'm experienced with device manager settings and what not but i had to post to try to get help but if the cable ONLY works with there software guess I'll have to order it and wait weeks on end.

    IMO there's got to be a way to make this cable work and assign it to a comport without the software.:thumbdown:
     
  6. Captain Kilowatt

    Captain Kilowatt Professional Amateur
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    16,714
    Likes Received:
    10,663
    A cable is a cable and simply connects the data in/out pins on one end to the applicable data in/out pins on the other end. Software should have nothing to do with it.
     
  7. Se7en

    Se7en Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4,576
    Likes Received:
    214
    Like i said, the cable is not showing up under any comport that's the problem.
    it is popping up under universal serial bus controllers as USB-59 Radio cable
     
  8. W5LZ

    W5LZ Crotchety Old Bastard

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    6,832
    Likes Received:
    815
    And from there you assign a comport to that USB device. No idea how you'd go about that, but that's what it amounts to.
    - 'Doc
     
  9. Captain Kilowatt

    Captain Kilowatt Professional Amateur
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    16,714
    Likes Received:
    10,663
    Exactly. the question was if the cable would work with other software and the answer is YES. You may have to tell it to work but it will work. The ADMS software automatically assigns the port number.
     
  10. Se7en

    Se7en Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4,576
    Likes Received:
    214
    Hmm. Can someone walk me trough the comport assignment manually? It would really help me out.
     
  11. Moleculo

    Moleculo Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    8,924
    Likes Received:
    1,131
    Some of the RT Systems cables only work with their software, and some of the software only works with their cables. I believe the VX-8 package is like this. They started doing this a couple of years ago. Icom is doing the same thing now. It's easy for software vendors to implement this type of restriction by customizing the USB driver.
     
  12. Captain Kilowatt

    Captain Kilowatt Professional Amateur
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    16,714
    Likes Received:
    10,663
    Not aware of that but I did just find out that you cannot assign a com port to a USB device. :blink: The site I was reading (forgot to bookmark it :headbang ) was saying that you need a serial to USB adapter to be able to assign a com port to the USB cable/device. That would explain why I never had a problem with my RT Systems software and my USB cable. I used a Belkin serial adapter in the middle for both programming as well as PTT control and data in/out when I ran SSTV. I forgot about that. :oops:
     
  13. Se7en

    Se7en Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4,576
    Likes Received:
    214
    Ah. Ok well im going to see if i can pick up a serial female to male usb adapter that way i can assign a comport using rs232. BTW i was able to use some UK HAM programming software which is free except it will not allow me to write to the radio unless i buy the software but it did read the radio like a charm with the RT systems Cable.

    Going to purchase one of these locally:
    http://www.amazon.com/USB-Type-Female-Adapter/dp/B000GHXTA0/ref=cm_cr_pr_pb_t
    Since i already have a Es232 to USB male.
     
    #13 Se7en, Jan 28, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2013
  14. Qwazyone

    Qwazyone Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    6
    I wonder if its just a coincidence that the cable se7en has, is the one that has its own driver available on the RT systems website, all other cable use a different driver. His cable is referred to as original vx8???
     
  15. Captain Kilowatt

    Captain Kilowatt Professional Amateur
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    16,714
    Likes Received:
    10,663
    I wonder as well since a cable is a cable in most cases. Some even make their own cables and they work. Perhaps RTS is up to something odd.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The WorldwideDX Radio Forum was originally established in 2001. We pride ourselves on welcoming Radio Hobby enthusiasts of all types, while offering unbiased, informative, and friendly discussion among the members. We are working every day to make sure our community is the best Radio Hobbyist's site.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Premium VIP Member

    The management works very hard to make sure the community is running the best software, best designs, and all the other bells and whistles. Care to buy us a beer? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!