• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

scare tactic ?

Remo

Sep 1, 2009
now im a newb and im not trying to stir the pot, or start an argument but i have a question.
i have seen this countless times on numerous forums, this one included.

here it is:
someone who isnt a HAM asks a question, and the answer ends up to the effect of "dont use HAM frequencies because the legal operators of that freq WILL FIND YOU and turn you in ..... yada yada" im sure you know what im getting at.

Anyways.. What im getting at is just how do they do this? how often do hams really go out of their way to do this? is it just a scare tactic that the hams like to say, or are some hams really that anal about it?

im not looking for a lecture of the legalities of it. i know its a law, and i do follow it. im not debating that, just looking for a real answer, not an argument.

Some hams are really that anal about it. You already knew that.

edit to add:

I have a license and I don't give a damn what you do, just use a condom.

I can tell you that the Hams in/around the South Bay Area/Santa Clara Valley CA go out of their way to find anyone messing with the 2 meter repeater. One math prof and an electrical engineer have put together a phased/delay antenna system on a vehicle to be able to locate any illegal interloper. It works - too.

If you do it on a regular basis you will most definitely be caught. If it is done occasionally, on different frequencies, it would be difficult to be caught.

However as easy as it is to get even the Extra Class license now days there really is no reason to risk being caught. Then when you factor in the availability of the CB type services why even bother....

:pop::pop: