• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Solid State Amps, Classes, Cleanliness..

eagle1911

Jan 21, 2011
OK, so I've been doing a bit of research into RF amplifier design, and I've got a few questions for the experts here. First off, let me apologize in advance for any n00bish questions I might ask, as I am fairly new to the theory behind amplification.

I have several HF/10/12m amps, mostly of the two transistor variety. I've been hearing for years about how class C amps just won't cut it on SSB.. Only one of my amps was class AB biased from the factory. I've added a rudimentary bias to another that appeared to be class C from the factory (KL-300p). I also have an unmodified KL-300p exactly like the one I just described that I added bias to. I run low pass filters on the output to minimize harmonics.

My question is this: Why is it that I get good signal reports consistently on ALL of my amps, regardless of mode, biasing, class or any other feature that I can tell? I do run my amps based on the specs for the transistors, rather than amp manufacturer specs which are almost always WAY overrated, so if I have 2 sd1446s I set things up so that the amp swings to 140-160W, if I have mrf455s I set it to run 120-140W etc.. Is this why the class/biasing doesn't seem to affect the output? It just seems odd to me all the down-talking I hear about class C amps on AM and SSB, but I've never heard so much as a peep about dirty output/splatter from the receiving end of any QSO.. Even the two KL-300p's (which ground the bases of the transistors via the input transformer) get nearly identical *excellent* reports, even though one is crudely biased AB..

Your thoughts are appreciated!

Last edited: