• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Texas Star Amp Repair free help

May 26, 2010
Escondido, CA
:bdh:
a quarter century with Texas Star, and I have been put to pasture.
I did tech support for about 10 years. I am sure that some of you must know me.
It is my intention now to help techs and hobiests to repair a stock TS amplifier. I am not an engineer and there are things which I will not debate. However, I can usually fix one and not to have it blow itself up again.

I have made the simplest of web pages which I invite you to. Go to the troubleshooting page and pick up some pointers.
You can e-mail me with questions. I really like a digital picture with your question as a picture can be worth a thousand words. I may be able to recognize modifications or vintage of manufacture, or maybe even see a short or open from the pic.
I will try to come in here occasionally and look at the threads.

Remember, when you replace transistors on a Texas Star amp you need to check the bias circuit or you may just blow the replacement finals.
1 extra minute is all I suggest. Read the bias resistance, then manually key up and read the bias voltages.
GO to YouTube and look for Texas star Amp Repair
you will find manual key-up procedure and bias check procedure.

My name is Mike and I hope that I can help some of you.

TexasStarRepair@cox.net
Home Page

I Asked Mike If we could put a link up to his site, and if he would be willing to come over and have a look at the forum.
He has graciously said yes, and I want to Thank Him for coming over and offering his help to the Members.
This post is going to be sticky'ed to the top for easy access.