• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Them darn metal can capacitors

Radio Tech

Radio Operator
Sep 9, 2008
North Carolina
www.gokarters.com
Dont you hate it when you get one of those metal can capacitors go out in your nice boat anchor rig? Some are next to imposible to find or the replacement is old new stock that has or may be dried out.
Or you can put new axel leads under neath but that takes away from the original loom.

Here is one remedy I have been doing for a few years.

In this case a tram D201A has a bad 10uf x 4 at 450volt capacitor. 2 of the 4 legs were shorted.

The fix.
Order some 10uf at 450 from mouser. Part number 871-B43827A106M000.
These caps are very small in diameter.

Put on some rubber gloves.
Take the old metal capacitor and with a fine blade hack saw cut it at the bas where it goes from large to small. Remove all the insides and the thick cardborad and tar at the bottom. With a dremel clean out any aluminum around the edge of the base. When done correctly the top half will slide into the bottom have. Makes it look like it was never cut.

attachment.php

Next align the 4 capacitors together with the negative sides faceing one another. Solder the grounds and cut off leads leaving about 1/8 of an inch.

attachment.php

You can see how the capacitors fit right inside.

attachment.php

Solder the positive sides of each capacitor to the bottom legs. They will be a little loose but that is ok for now.

attachment.php

For the ground this is where you need to drill a small hole next to one of the mounting legs on the base. The case is aluminum but the n\mounting legs are tin. Insert a piece of hook up wire in the hole and solder to base of leg. put heat shrink around the wire and connect ot ground on capacitors.