• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

TR-696FD-1 ERF2030 final kit problem...

Robb

Honorary Member Silent Key
Dec 18, 2008
Silicon Valley CA, Storm Lake IA
Hi Y'all:

Put a dual-final kit in the TR-696.
I used a pair of IRF520N's instead of the ERF2030's; I was assured that they are the same piece and are completely interchangeable.
Problem is - I get 1/2 watt dead key and it swings to four watts.
I'm sure others have encountered this problem - but I thought I'd better ask rather than break something or screw something up.
Radio recieves fine - but transmits weakly.
What have I done wrong?
What haven't I adjusted correctly?
Should I have used the ERF2030's?
This should be an easy one for the tech guys...

Since I am new to doing mods, I would have thought that it needs a bias adjustment. Part of installing the finals was removing a fixed choke at L33; as bipolar transistors need it and MOSFETS don't. This particular board version came with a single bipolar 2SC1969 final. I followed the instructiions and checked my work three times or more.

Last edited:
I put it all back to stock w/the stock final and other assorted parts, and it works fine once again.
I even tried the kit as a single final upgrade - and it still didn't work.
The parts must be bad, so I am going to check each transistor and the bias chip for go/no go with my multitester.

I know it wasn't my work, as I put all of the stock parts back in correctly and it works just fine.
Its back to normal.