1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.
    Dismiss Notice

ts830s 11 meter mod

Discussion in 'CB and Export Equipment and Accessories' started by Fatman-Unit 48, May 5, 2009.

  1. Fatman-Unit 48

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    New to the group. Does anyone know if this radio can be mod. to operate on 11 meters with good results?


     

  2. ButtFuzz

    ButtFuzz Anti-BS Advocate ● N4REV ● Reverend Doctor

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    485
    Likes Received:
    132
  3. Captain Kilowatt

    Captain Kilowatt Professional Amateur
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    15,110
    Likes Received:
    6,793
    :angry: Such a beautifull radio to hack for 11m. :cry: I have the predecessor the TS-820S in mint condx and will NEVER mod it for 11m. I would love to have a TS-830S to go along with it. Since it does not have AM why not leave it alone and pick up a Yeasu FT-101 series and mod the hell out of it for 11m?
     
  4. Wire Weasel

    Wire Weasel Senior Moment

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,629
    Likes Received:
    167
    Changing out one or two 10 meter crystals with 11 meter ones and doing a little tuning if necessary, isn't hacking. It's no different that doing any mod to any radio.
     
  5. Captain Kilowatt

    Captain Kilowatt Professional Amateur
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    15,110
    Likes Received:
    6,793
    OK so the term "hacking" was perhaps a little strong but I still feel the same. Retuning it sometimes requires a differant bandtap position if you want to go below Ch#1 and that becomes hacking IMO. I just hate to see wonderfull old 820's and 830's as well as Yaesu FT-102's etc sacrificed in the name of 11m. The FT-101's are a dime a dozen on the air and have wonderfull AM performance. If one does not want AM, which the 830 does not have anyway, then a newer solidstate clip-a-diode-and-go rigs are perfect for 11m SSB.
     
  6. 2CO3026

    2CO3026 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    23
    Why, I've always considered an honorable tribute to put them ol' classics on 11m!

    (Sparky ducks, awaiting flying plates, saucers, and other miscellaneous items of painful consequence aimed squarely at his head...)

    -
     
  7. Fatman-Unit 48

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    ts830s on 11 meter

    I know some people don't like to mess up a great rig but, if it is changed over will it still work fine on all the bands , I don't want to "hack it up" i just want to use it on anothee band. Can it be changed easily? Just want honest answers no "hash slinging" What other radios do any one recomend that will cover am/ssb pn 11 meters?
     
  8. Fatman-Unit 48

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Butt thanks for the reply are u using a ts 830s? If so does all the other functions on the radio work on 11 meters and can you work usb.lsb frq with it?

    Fatman
     
  9. Captain Kilowatt

    Captain Kilowatt Professional Amateur
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    15,110
    Likes Received:
    6,793
    Everything will work on 11m however the RX may possibly need to be peaked a little to get the best sensitivity on that band.The TX is usually not so much an issue unless you try and go below channel 1 and then the TX will need to be retuned.
     
  10. Captain Kilowatt

    Captain Kilowatt Professional Amateur
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    15,110
    Likes Received:
    6,793

    You say "honor" and I say blasphemy. :sad: IMHO classics should be stock. That's what makes them classic.
     
  11. marcum1235

    marcum1235 Just Me

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    TS-820s 11m mod

    I have a Kenwood TS-820s I got the 11m crystals put in now the VFO will not change the Freq. in those bands. does anyone have any ideas to what is wrong or have I not done something I should have. Thank you for looking at my message. Please e-mail me at: marcum1235 at yahoo dot com.:headbang
     
  12. skipshooter205

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    4
    you can try posting a question on the ham sites qrz qth eham there is mods for that also @ modsdk
    hope this helps 73
     
  13. Captain Kilowatt

    Captain Kilowatt Professional Amateur
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    15,110
    Likes Received:
    6,793
    Asking questions about 11m conversions to a TS-820 over on QRZ.com will go over real well. :LOL:
     
    025 likes this.
  14. Captain Kilowatt

    Captain Kilowatt Professional Amateur
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    15,110
    Likes Received:
    6,793

    Where did you install the crystal at? Did you replace a 10m crsytal when you did it or install it in a fixed crystal freq position?
     
  15. marcum1235

    marcum1235 Just Me

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I placed the crystals in the 10m slots are.:headbang
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The WorldwideDX Radio Forum was originally established in 2001. We pride ourselves on welcoming Radio Hobby enthusiasts of all types, while offering unbiased, informative, and friendly discussion among the members. We are working every day to make sure our community is the best Radio Hobbyist's site.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Premium VIP Member

    The management works very hard to make sure the community is running the best software, best designs, and all the other bells and whistles. Care to buy us a beer? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!