1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.
    Dismiss Notice

Uniden PC76XL Question

Discussion in 'CB and Export Equipment and Accessories' started by jbo, Sep 28, 2005.

1. jbo

jbo Member

I just picked up a uniden pc76xl on ebay for $40. It was made in the phillippines and its in really good condition. Did I get a decent deal and how will this radio work after a peak and tune. I am going to get a wilson 500 to use with it and a road devil mic for it. Any suggestion or comments, i am a newbie and would like any suggestions to make the radio sound good and send and recieve a good distance. Mainly going to be used for off road and while traveling.

2. Switch Kit

Switch Kit Active Member

Welcome to the Forum JBO ....the 76XL is a fine AM only cb radio , a basic tune should get you around 5 to 20 watts pep with 100 % modulation ....The Wilson 500 will be a decent starter antenna for you but you might conceder spending another 20 bucks or so on the 1000 model , It's a much better antenna in the long run of it , maybe you might want to run some power later on and the 1000 would do you just fine upwards to 500 watts pep with the RG-58 it comes with and can also be changed for bigger coax in the future if need be ....just something to think about there. I'd say for 40.00 bucks on that 76XL you did very well. Switch Kit

3. Cheech

Cheech Active Member

One fine deal! I had one and it blew smoke! best audio I have heard in a radio and did 39 watts with the 1969 final.

4. cdurost

cdurost Member

i would like to up date my uniden 76XL where does the 1969 final go

5. KC2OST

KC2OST BANNED

Your signature says "LOTS OF MODS" on your radio.
    How do you know it doesn't have it already?

6. DTB Radio

DTB Radio Well-Known Member