• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Who is King of the Hill HF base radio ?

NJ124, please do not take offense at what I am going to ask you. I was wondering what class of Ham you are? If you are a general what about the 2000 on HF makes it good, what about the VHF/UHF portion do you like? I have operated one and put it through a lot of paces, and there were a few things about it that I personally didn't like. The FM only sub band is a big limitation IMHO. You can't operate VHF/UHF SSB and monitor a HF freq at the same time. The IF DSP is not adequate either. The AF DSP in my TS570 is just as effective. Same way with the DSP slope tuning. I was going to buy one at one time and it just didn't seem to fit my operating style. All this is just my opinion.
Ed
KC0PZE

yes I'm a tech right now but i will have my general soon (working on my code) i just like the fact you have uhf, vhf and hf in one radio, i like the pre amp, antenna tuner, and it has great audio in ssb. the sub vfo is not all that great and it shoud have the same freq range as the main vfo, Am audio is pretty flat but remember this is a hf rig not a cb . Overall it was a good radio for the price and what your got for your money, also this radio has really good recive as well

Seriously though..

What does everyone think is a better radio and why..

Icom IC-7800

Yaesu FTDX9000

both are well over $11,000

Later

KingCobra_CDX882 said:
Seriously though..

What does everyone think is a better radio and why..

Icom IC-7800

Yaesu FTDX9000

both are well over $11,000

Later

Personally, I'm immediately inclined toward the Yaesu as I've been happier with Yaesu's user-friendly menus and they seem to have fewer lemons from the factory.