• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

C B RADIOS AND SWR METERS?

chris_53

Aug 5, 2005
i was told this evening by a fellow cb-er in the uk that its illegal to use a cb radio while the SWR meter is attached, can anyone tell me if this is right and if so then why, im new to the world of cb's so very much still learning
many thanks..............CHRIS

That sounds kind of strange ? SWR meters don't do anymore then tell a guy weather or not he has a good or bad match ,certainly doesn't add power or anything like that, it surely wouldn't make any sence for them to be illegal in line with the radio and antenna( personally wouldn't want one in line if all I was running was a radio in the first place ,I would think there was some kind of slight lose there) ....throw a amp in line there after then I would guess to say you were illegal ? ..So many radios themselves have built in SWR meters to begin with ,I would hate to think they were illegal as well ? ....I really have know idea what the laws are in the UK ? but I must admit ...that does sound a little strange to say the least. Good Luck

I think when they are words written on a board CW ......depending on whos reading them at the time ? .....folks just tend to take them the only ways they know how ....it's usually like this ..positive replys usually will get them in return (for the most part) .....negative replys will get those as well in return. A lot of crap going on in the world these days .....IM starting to think that sences of humor are running a bit on the thin side these days......I just may be guilty myself of lacking in that department as well. )-: