• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Maco 300 tubes

Cable Guy

Void where prohibited
Dec 29, 2010
West Tennessee
Hi, I'm looking at the above amp and the final tubes are not 8950s, instead 26lx6 tubes. Now, the 8950 is a 13 volt tube, and the 26lx6 states, well, 26 volts, with less current draw. The transformer is supposed to put out 12v for the heaters, I haven't checked yet. I'm studying tube amps right now, so let's keep this scholastic.

Would the 26 volt tubes run at a lower voltage, assuming they can be supplied with more current? Is it likely someone has added another transformer or modified existing with a voltage doubler of sorts?

Thanks for the look.

Is it likely someone has added another transformer or modified existing with a voltage doubler of sorts?
Yep...good logic...without modified info, hard to say how the amp circuitry has been change. Maybe post Top and Bottom interior chassis ...Hi-res pics?

https://cbtricks.org/Amp/maco/maco_300b/graphics/maco_300b_redraw_sch.pdf

Reactions: Cable Guy
It appears the 26v tubes are used for drivers too. According to measurements, all sockets provide 26v AC to the heaters.
The low volt transformer has both 13v secondaries tied in series to produce 26 volts.

One of the drivers are shorted and must be replaced. I have 2 6LF6 tubes, 6 volt. Check my logic on this, as it is mostly comprised of pouring through threads here. If I rewired the drivers heaters in series, couldn't I grab 12 volts from one of the secondaries and use the 6 volt tubes?