• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Question about SSB Biasing.

Hmmmmm... I thought Class C applied any time the base of a power transistor is grounded through a transformer in push/pull operation. Or any time the base is held at ground potential for that matter.....
Applying a low bias voltage around 0.5 to 1 VDC on the base puts it, I think :unsure: in class A/B territory....... I'm no expert though !

This is a very good read about the different classes of rf amps.
I think you are getting confused by push/pull operation and actual classes of bias.

Jeff
You are right, the class of operation is about conduction angle and not necessarily the configuration. I did word that incorrectly,

But lets assume that the push pull pair are both in class C, each having typically less than 90° of conduction. That gives the push pull pair a total of less than 180° conduction for the whole cycle if they are in fact class C. I think they are on longer than that, but I admit, I never tested it. One thing I do know is that the 1200w xforce I used to have did not like my 100A supply. Not at all. I had to run two car batteries with really heavy cable.

The next time I get one of these big boxes in front of me, I will look at the conduction angle and find out.

You know what, why not have a little fun with this...............

Lets take the input impedance of a 2SC2879 right off the datasheet, match it to 50Ω, give it 4 watts, then see what the RMS voltage is at that impedance.
conduction angle.png