• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

S9 or Omega....hmmm

Butcher318

Apr 13, 2005
I have been running a Delta Force for over three years now and have been very happy. I just bought an S3 on the forum here and was very impressed with how quiet the receive is. heck I only ran the S3 for just over a week and already want an S9 or Omega Force so I can have SSB. I hate to sell the S3 but gotta finance the new purchase. Is the receive on the Omega as good as the S3?

Hi Butcher, for what it's worth, I emailed Sam Lewis at RF Limited with the same question and he informed me that they redesigned the receiver front end in the S-9, trying to duplicate the AR3500.

I too owned a Delta Force for about 3 years (died on me!) and got the s-9. From what I gathered from Sam the Omega Force and Delta Force are more similar than the S9.

I can tell you from personal experience that the S9 rx is much better than the Delta Force. I'm not sure that the SSB rx on the S9 is quite up the standards of an AR3500 (definitely not a lincoln!) but it's 'good enough.'

Also, something on the S9 that I did not notice on the Delta Force is a slight warble in the all mode talkback on ssb mode. Not a big concern but just an observation.

hey Justin, I probably shouldn't do this but I was just wondering...

Do you say that the Magnum S9 is a copy of the 99 because you cary Galaxy and not RF Limited? Maybe you do but I did not see them listed on your site.

You may be absolutely right Justin and I plan on comparing the circuitry, but this just jumped out at me when I visited your site.

Jake