• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Adjusting Cushcraft R10 for 11 meters?

Spirittalk

Dec 19, 2006
I picked up a very cheap Cushcraft AR10 on ebay.

I would like to know the best way to adjust it for working on 11 meters band.

I have the ATU MFJ904 but wonder if there is another way of adjusting it from the antenna end ?

A half wave length vertical for 11 meter band is 17:3 feet, the cushcraft measures 17:5 feet.

How much power PEP am I likely to loose from an umatched antenna tuned via a tuner?

Should I cut 2 inches from the top of the antenna or is there another method to make adjustments antenna end ?

I am studying for my M3 callsign at the moment so wouldn't want to cut the antenna too much antenna end, rendering it useles for when I finaly get licensed to use 10 meters.

Will the MFJ904 tuner , tune 11 meter band and then allow me to use it on 10 meters when I have passed the associated radio amateur ticket?

I have even managed to tune a G5RV on to the 11 meter band with this ATU and that is miles out length wise?

Spirittalk said:
A half wave length vertical for 11 meter band is 17:3 feet, the Cushcraft measures 17:5 feet.

Should I cut 2 inches from the top of the antenna or is there another method to make adjustments antenna end ?

I am studying for my M3 callsign at the moment so wouldn't want to cut the antenna too much antenna end, rendering it useless for when I finally get licensed to use 10 meters.

Will the MFJ904 tuner , tune 11 meter band and then allow me to use it on 10 meters when I have passed the associated radio amateur ticket?