1. In celebration of the launch of the new redesigned site, we just gave away a FREE antenna! Click Here to See Who Won!

Antenna grounding

Discussion in 'CB Antennas' started by hammer0630, Dec 24, 2011.

  1. hammer0630

    hammer0630 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    55
    I have a Patriot 12 antenna mounted to a 10 foot metal mast which is mounted to the eve on the peaked part of my roof which is all wooden construction. I am running from the metal mast very large diameter wire to a piece of rebar drove in the ground 7 feet. What if anything am I getting from doing this and is 7 feet deep enough to get a ground?


     
    #1
  2. JoeDirt

    JoeDirt Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    25
    7 ft should be fine, running re-bar for a ground rod might be hurting your grounding but still should work for lighting protection. I run a similar setup on my house. I ran a heavy wire from my mast to the ground rod for the house (copper clad steel rod).
     
    #2
  3. W5LZ

    W5LZ Crotchety Old Bastard

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    6,834
    Likes Received:
    726
    Now add a half dozen more of those ground rods in a fairly wide area. Connect them together and then to your house's ground system and you'll have a half way decent safety ground system.
    - 'Doc
     
    #3
  4. hammer0630

    hammer0630 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    55
    The wire I am running as my ground wire is actually the multi stranded guy wire galvanized that they use on telephone poles when the stress on the pole is uneven. And to reply to more grounding rods I had a Hell of a time just to get that one in 7 feet! There must be a better way!
     
    #4
  5. nobody

    nobody Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    2
    What gauge of copper wire would you recommend?
     
    #5
  6. W5LZ

    W5LZ Crotchety Old Bastard

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    6,834
    Likes Received:
    726
    "What gauge of copper wire would you recommend?"

    Whatever the NEC recommends.
    - 'Doc
     
    #6
  7. vo1ks

    vo1ks Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    46
    Read through my writeup on grounding and read the links from Nautel, Broadcast Electronics, and Polyphaser. There is more to lightning and ground protection than just pounding rods into the ground. Done improperly you could be creating more of a problem than leaving things floating.

    http://members.rennlist.org/warren/grounding.pdf
     
    #7
    2 people like this.
  8. BammBamm

    BammBamm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    59
    I'm running 6 gauge from the antenna mount bolts to a 8 foot copper clad ground rod driven 1 foot under the ground and another from the base of my tower to the same ground rod so my ground rod is actually 9 foot deep and ground wires are buried back to tower base. As for a pain to put in the ground I did mine while the ground was frozen here and used a 3 pound maul......It took about a case of beer:whistle:
     
    #8
  9. vo1ks

    vo1ks Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    46
    You need to get that ground rod connected to the ground at the main electrical panel. Otherwise your equipment will become a jumper between the two grounds. Current will flow through the two and damage is quite possible.
     
    #9
    1 person likes this.
  10. The Jerk

    The Jerk Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    49

    For the actual antenna, isn't the NEC recommendation a 14ga wire to ground?? It simply bleeds off the static charge to prevent the antenna from being hit in the first place??
     
    #10
  11. vo1ks

    vo1ks Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    46
    Commonly used at broadcast and other commercial installations is 3-inch wide copper strap used to bond equipment. The antenna lines are bonded to the tower at the top and bottom (sometimes midway too). The lines should be bonded to the building AC ground before going to the equipment. Flexible 1-inch braid is good for connecting between the transmission lines and the ground strap.

    Some manufacturers also suggest quarter wave shorted transmission lines as added protection. For CB, get yourself a Tee connector. It gets placed along your transmission line somewhere. On the third output connect a 6 foot piece of RG58 or RG8 cable with the far end shorted and soldered together. It will ensure the entire antenna is placed at DC ground.
     
    #11
  12. IRock817

    IRock817 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    27
    If you dig a small hole-(just about six inches deep) and fill it with water, then put your ground rod in the center of the hole and work it up and down. Keep the hole filled with water and you can sink the ground rod to depth by hand!
    I didn't believe it either but after setting a eight foot copper rod through clay, I was amazed!
    Try it you'll like it!

    I have all my radio equipment grounded to this rod as well!
    Good luck!
     
    #12
    1 person likes this.
  13. vo1ks

    vo1ks Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    46
    I hope you bonded that ground rod back to your AC ground rod as well.


     
    #13
  14. "For CB, get yourself a Tee connector. It gets placed along your transmission line somewhere. On the third output connect a 6 foot piece of RG58 or RG8 cable with the far end shorted and soldered together. It will ensure the entire antenna is placed at DC ground."

    can you explain how that works a little more please ?
    and how does that not act like a needle stuck in the coax ?

    also , what's your opinion of Morgan’s M-300 Series arrestors ?
    http://www.morganmfg.us/radio-products/impulse-suppressors-arrestors/

    thanks .
     
    #14
  15. IRock817

    IRock817 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    27
    This may be lame but in a way it is tied in!
    All my equipment is earth grounded through the third plug on the cords!
    Before I get thrashed for that comment, I am going to add a couple more rods and bond everything together including the electric company's rod!
    My problem is that the electric company's ground rod is on the other side of the house which is about seventy-five too eighty five ft away from my antenna and rods!
     
    #15

Share This Page

Members Online Now

  1. NightOwl326,
  2. crappykraco,
  3. 4ZERO99,
  4. chetw77cruiser,
  5. Shredwell,
  6. StrangeBrew,
  7. Robb
Total: 227 (members: 7, guests: 138, robots: 82)