1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Can anyone confirm DTMF on the new Baofeng UV-5R

Discussion in 'Ham Equipment' started by Mudfoot, Mar 4, 2012.

  1. Mudfoot

    Mudfoot
    Expand Collapse
    Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    7,926
    Likes Received:
    2,399
    Just wondering if it does have DTMF.


     

  2. Moleculo

    Moleculo
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    8,704
    Likes Received:
    699
    I'll let you know as soon as mine arrives.
     
  3. Mudfoot

    Mudfoot
    Expand Collapse
    Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    7,926
    Likes Received:
    2,399
    I noticed Brick-O-Lore has a screen shot of the UV-5R software that shows DTMF programming options. Sounds encouraging.
     
  4. BrickOLore

    BrickOLore
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    6
    Yes, both the software and manual suggests DTMF. Link to the screenshots for those that are interested:

    Brick O'Lore: Baofeng UV-5R: DTMF
     
  5. Mudfoot

    Mudfoot
    Expand Collapse
    Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    7,926
    Likes Received:
    2,399
    Also,

    If you have an programming cable for a Wouxun UVD1P, can you confirm if it will also work with the UV-5R?

    I'll swing buy Universal radio and pick one up if it does.

    Thanks.
     
  6. jwilkers

    jwilkers
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    7
    It DOES have DTMF, and the Wouxun programming cable works.
     
  7. Mudfoot

    Mudfoot
    Expand Collapse
    Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    7,926
    Likes Received:
    2,399
    Are you able to program pl and offset manually into a memory channel without using the software?

    Seems to be an issue with some units.
     
  8. BrickOLore

    BrickOLore
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    6
    Did you get this figured out? I may have seen another post saying that you had a bad unit.

    Thanks to Ed at www.importcommunications.com, here are some instructions for programming the UV-5R:

    Brick O'Lore: Baofeng UV-5R: Adding a Repeater to Memory
     
  9. Mudfoot

    Mudfoot
    Expand Collapse
    Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    7,926
    Likes Received:
    2,399
    I've seen those instructions. I can only program via software.

    I have a replacement coming
     

Share This Page

Members Online Now

  1. N9CED,
  2. firerunner,
  3. Grogan,
  4. Robb,
  5. worldwidejack,
  6. vkrules,
  7. Hurricane95,
  8. 222DBFL,
  9. ahasverus,
  10. Blazer191,
  11. Shrum
Total: 254 (members: 12, guests: 146, robots: 96)