1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Can anyone confirm DTMF on the new Baofeng UV-5R

Discussion in 'Ham Equipment' started by Mudfoot, Mar 4, 2012.

  1. Mudfoot

    Mudfoot
    Expand Collapse
    Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    7,820
    Likes Received:
    2,344
    Just wondering if it does have DTMF.


     

  2. Moleculo

    Moleculo
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    8,653
    Likes Received:
    661
    I'll let you know as soon as mine arrives.
     
  3. Mudfoot

    Mudfoot
    Expand Collapse
    Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    7,820
    Likes Received:
    2,344
    I noticed Brick-O-Lore has a screen shot of the UV-5R software that shows DTMF programming options. Sounds encouraging.
     
  4. BrickOLore

    BrickOLore
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    6
    Yes, both the software and manual suggests DTMF. Link to the screenshots for those that are interested:

    Brick O'Lore: Baofeng UV-5R: DTMF
     
  5. Mudfoot

    Mudfoot
    Expand Collapse
    Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    7,820
    Likes Received:
    2,344
    Also,

    If you have an programming cable for a Wouxun UVD1P, can you confirm if it will also work with the UV-5R?

    I'll swing buy Universal radio and pick one up if it does.

    Thanks.
     
  6. jwilkers

    jwilkers
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    7
    It DOES have DTMF, and the Wouxun programming cable works.
     
  7. Mudfoot

    Mudfoot
    Expand Collapse
    Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    7,820
    Likes Received:
    2,344
    Are you able to program pl and offset manually into a memory channel without using the software?

    Seems to be an issue with some units.
     
  8. BrickOLore

    BrickOLore
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    6
    Did you get this figured out? I may have seen another post saying that you had a bad unit.

    Thanks to Ed at www.importcommunications.com, here are some instructions for programming the UV-5R:

    Brick O'Lore: Baofeng UV-5R: Adding a Repeater to Memory
     
  9. Mudfoot

    Mudfoot
    Expand Collapse
    Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    7,820
    Likes Received:
    2,344
    I've seen those instructions. I can only program via software.

    I have a replacement coming
     

Share This Page

Members Online Now

  1. autotuner,
  2. Justme,
  3. majorxlr8n,
  4. Michael Mize,
  5. Atlasta,
  6. jmb1911,
  7. scout943,
  8. midnight special
Total: 197 (members: 9, guests: 135, robots: 53)