1. In celebration of the launch of the new redesigned site, we just gave away a FREE antenna! Click Here to See Who Won!

Converting a President HR-2600

Discussion in 'CB and Export Equipment and Accessories' started by mechanic, May 30, 2010.

  1. mechanic

    mechanic Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    40
    I found a decent 2600 at Dayton two weeks ago and got it working, since it is not easy to convert and a Chipswitch may be a tough find, I though I would ask opinions about a mod I have in mind.... :confused:

    One of my "waiting to be repaired" 2510s has a major fault on the RF board with the receive but the rig transmits fine, is on frequency and tunes across the band it covers.... :cry:



    My idea is to swap the microprocessor board and the display with the 2600, seems that all the wires are there and I could wind up with a good rig this way! There seems to be minor differences between the RF boards but not too many. I wonder if this hybrid would work.... :unsure:

    73 mechanic
    #1
  2. Quiksilver

    Quiksilver Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    16
    #2
  3. mechanic

    mechanic Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    40
    Thanks Quicksilver! I can use some of the info to compare the rigs and they look pretty darn close. Before I commit to the mod I want to research them to the fullest so I don't "kill" them! :oops:

    mechanic
    #3
  4. Rogerbird1

    Rogerbird1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    1
    Swap

    Actually,
    The better mod would be to remove the 2510 microprocessor and the 2600 micro, and install a socket in the 2600 and then use the 2510 micro in the 2600.
    It will work (done a few this way). You still will have to add the 11 mtr mod to the 2600 (the same way you do a 2510). But the micros are the same with different programming in them.

    The displays are the same (exact same) and the main board in the 2600 is the improved version of the 2510. (with all the circuit updates)

    The Micro boards are not drop in replacements, the 2600 has different plugs and jacks, It can be done, but you have to figure out which wires you need and which you dont.

    Also when the chipswitch is available again, you just pop it in, no need to remove the conversion mod. (still hoping to get some chipswitches in the future).

    If you are careful or know some one that is handy with a soldering iron and de-solder tool, this isnt that much of a job.

    I could do it for you if you want.. Email me.. Rogerbird1 @ aim . com

    Roger
    #4
  5. TonyV225

    TonyV225 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    248
    Roger Pm me your address and phone number I have a few 2510 I need you to fix or look at atleast ;)
    #5


Share This Page