• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Ham Chat

keystone990

Jan 25, 2012
Indiana, PA
www.indidata.net
So I am a newly licensed Ham and over the course of the last few weeks I have been searching for a live chat where I could talk to other hams and maybe arrange QSOs etc. but found none except for IIRC.

Being I am a programmer by trade, I threw together a live chat script on my website. I hope this sort of thing is not frowned upon on these forums but I am inviting all who might be interested to check it out.

My website is My Ham Radio Adventures and there is a link for the chat. You can also read about my adventures as a new ham while you are there.

I do not know if this is anything that hams would be interested in but I am so let's see where it goes.

Thank you for your time,

Clark

Reactions: 1 person

When I was a new ham I chatted with people on ham radio. That was the whole point of getting the license.

Why do you want to "arrange" QSO's? Get on the air like those of us before you did and call CQ. That's how you learn to make contacts. It's fun. Really it is.

I'd spend hours and sometimes stay up all night calling CQ and chatting with hams on 80m CW. It was addicting and you never knew where the next call would come from. If you have a radio give it a try. Ooops I almost forgot there's no code requirement now. Doesn't matter...get on 10 meters and call CQ for a while. :D

Last edited:
My call is KB3YEU. I signed up for this forum before I got my license.

I just thought it would be a nice mix of technologies. You are right there are no code requirements but I am eager to learn CW and have even hijacked a mouse and turned into a CW key hooked up to my 897D. Works like a charm.